Skip to content
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library   (Penn State Users Only)
    Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) contains searchable full-text of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources in many different subject fields.

  • Oxford Reference Online   (Penn State Users Only)
    Brings together over 100 dictionary, encyclopedia, language, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press in a single cross-searchable resource.

  • Grove's Art Online   (Penn State Users Only)
    Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art (1996) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001). Covers all cultures from prehistory to the 1990s. Over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings are displayed in the text of 45,000 articles. Contains links to searchable image databases and over 40,000 art images on museum and gallery web sites around the world. Updated continuously.

  • Grove Music Online   (Penn State Users Only)
    Grove Music Online is a fully-searchable encyclopedia covering all aspects of the history of music, with articles about composers (including lists of works), performers, styles and genres, countries and cities, and instruments.

  • Encyclopedia of American Studies   (Penn State Users Only)
    The Encyclopedia of American Studies provides interdisciplinary coverage of the American experience, from pre-colonial days to the present. Over 660 articles cover areas such as history, literature, art, photography, film, architecture, urban studies, ethnicity, race, gender, economics, politics, wars, consumer culture, and global America.

  • Access Science (McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online)   (Penn State Users Only)
    The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology delivers full-text high-quality encyclopedia articles in all areas of science.

  • Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications   (Penn State Users Only)
    The Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications (EIMC) seeks to provide "clear knowledge of the workings of the media and communications worldwide" and to outline possible futures. "Communications" is restricted to communications technology

  • International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences   (Penn State Users Only)
    The International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences is the online equivalent of the 24 volume encyclopedia published in 2002. Content is organized around more than 30 primarily interdisciplinary topical areas of active research and significant promise (for example, memory, crime and violence, markets, modernization), combined with the categories: Overarching Topics,Disciplines, Intersecting fields, and Applications.

  • MIT Cognet: Reference Collection   (Penn State Users Only)
    Click on LIBRARY, then REFERENCES to search the full-text of 7 major reference works from the MIT Press: The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences, The Handbook of Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience, The Cognitive Neurosciences III, The Handbook of Brain Theory and Neural Networks, The Handbook of Multisensory Processes, The Visual Neurosciences, The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders.

  • International Encyclopedia of Communication
    The first new major reference work of this scale in Communication Studies.

  • World Press Encyclopedia
    Provides an overview of the press by country, as well as information on political and economic framework, press laws and censorship.

Search


Contact

Library Learning Services
814.865.9257
Gateway Desk
814.865.6368
instruct@psulias.psu.edu


 


Get Help