Penn State Image Databases
More than 10,000 images documenting the history of painting, sculpture, architecture, and other visual arts from prehistoric times to the present. These images were chosen from the Visual Resource Centre's collection of digital images, and also represent a selection of the VRC's 350,000 slides. Access is Penn State only.
Mira Lloyd Dock Forestry Lantern Slides
468 glass lantern slides from the collection of Mira Lloyd Dock (1853-1945), a renowned Pennsylvania environmentalist, botanist, and educator. Tree and other plant specimens and other aspects of forest management throughout the United States and Europe, but with an emphasis on Pennsylvania, are documents in these historic photos. Access to all for educational uses.
Over 250 images, from Penn State.s Rare Books and Manuscripts in the Special Collections Library drawings on paper made with pen, ink, and watercolor, using fancy penmanship and illustrations such as birds, hearts, flowers, and angels. They were commonly used in the 18th and 19th centuries to document births and baptisms, marriages, and house blessings, among other occasions. The collection also includes broadsides (sheets of paper printed on one side only, such as commentaries on religious texts and political events) and German-language newspapers. Access to all for educational uses.
The O'Connor/Yeager Collection. A collection of printed Pennsylvania town views, portraits, maps, and historical scenes. Through a combination of donation and purchase from the collectors John C. O'Connor and Ralph M. Yeager, this collection of 330 prints came to the Palmer Museum of Art in 1986. It includes lithographs, engravings, aquatints, photogravures, and woodcuts created by artists of the late eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. These prints offer a unique glimpse into Pennsylvania's past. Access to all for educational uses.
University Park Campus History Collection. This collection of primary source materials focuses on the design and planning of the Penn State University Park campus from the 1870s to the 1970s. Access to all for educational uses.
Worldwide Building and Landscape Pictures. This growing collection of more than 25,000 color images of historic architecture and landscape design. These pictures have been gathered for Penn State users from a variety of sources: professional color photography that has been licensed for Penn State use, original color photography provided by university faculty, and some copies from books and similar sources. Access: Most of this database is only accessible to Penn State but more than 3000 of the images are available to others for educational uses.
Other Databases
ARTstor (pictures of art, architecture, and visual culture)
Hundreds of thousands of images of works of art and other artifacts of visual culture, intended to support teaching, research and learning in visual culture and related fields. Access is Penn State only.
Oxford Art Online. An illustrated encyclopedia of art and art history. Access is Penn State only.
Index of Christian Art. A specialized database for locating specific themes in medieval art. Images are available for a large portion of the records. Access is Penn State only.
Newspaper Photos (AccuNet/AP Photo Archive)
Hundreds of thousands of news photos provided by the Associated Press (with approximately 800 added daily. Each year, approximately 200 of the best daily photos are retained permanently. Access is Penn State only.
Search
Contact
Katherine Staab
Arts & Humanities Library
W320 Pattee Library
Penn State University
Phone: 814-865-6778
Fax: 814-863-7502
kes304@psu.edu
or Your Campus Librarian.
