- Maps Collections at the Penn State University Libraries
- Types of Maps at Penn State Libraries, with keywords to search in the CAT
- Search for Maps Online
- Locating Historic Maps (Using the Serial Set Database)
- Recommended Maps Web Sites
Maps Collections at the Penn State University Libraries
The Pennsylvania State University Libraries are home to over 400,000 maps. The Maps Library in 1 Paterno Library (basement) holds topographic maps in addition to many other kinds of maps such as nautical charts, tourist and road maps, atlases, gazetteers and more. The Earth & Mineral Sciences Library holds some Pennsylvania Topographic maps as well as Geological maps. Historical maps, from before 1900, are housed in the Special Collections Library on the first floor of the Paterno Library.
Search for Maps in the CAT
You can search for, and request maps across all locations with The CAT, the Libraries’ online catalog.
To begin searching: Use the ADVANCED search page
Use keywords that answer the questions:
"What place do I want to see?"
What type of material (format) am I looking for?"
What type of map do I want? (topographic, tourist, etc.)

You can also limit your search by format type in the advanced search screen. In the drop-down menu for Material Type, select "Map" Note that doing this may eliminate some potentially useful resources, because you will be eliminating maps that are not in sheet map form, such as those in books.

Tip!
When you have located a map using the CAT, be sure to write down the entire call number and its location. If the map is located at a campus or branch other than the one you normally visit, you may request that it be sent to your location by clicking on the blue "I Want It" button.
Types of Maps at Penn State Libraries, with keywords to search in the CAT
Aerial Photographs
High-altitude photographs of specific areas
Keyword(s): aerial photography, aerial viewsAeronautical Charts- charts used for air navigation
Keyword(s): aeronautical chartsGeologic Maps- maps showing rock and other formations that appear underground
Keyword(s): geology AND maps, place name To search for a specific location, search using the form "geology-place-maps," e.g. "geology — Pennsylvania — maps"Nautical Charts- charts depicting various bodies of water, used for water navigation
Keyword(s): nautical chartsSatellite Images- photographs of specific areas taken from satellites; resemble high-altitude aerial photographs
Keyword(s): remote sensing, satellite meteorology-
Topographic Maps- maps that illustrate the physical features of a location, including the area’s relief
Keyword(s): topographic AND maps, place nameTo search for a specific location, search using the form "place - maps, topographic" e.g. "Pennsylvania — maps, topographic"
To search for a specific series of a particular scale, search by title using the form "[scale] series topographic [state]," e.g. "15 minute series topographic Pennsylvania"
Travel Maps- a wide variety of maps including road maps, city/town maps, hiking trails, and much more
Keyword(s): place name AND maps; cities and towns; maps, tourist;
Search for Maps Online
Geological Maps
Preliminary Geologic Atlas of Pennsylvania
Maps are black & white at a scale of 1:62,500 and are listed by quadrangle name. If you don't know the name of the quadrangle, you can use this index to Pennsylvania quadrangle maps to determine the name or look it up using the GNIS (Geographic Names Information System).
A Geological Hand Atlas of the Sixty-Seven Counties of Pennsylvania
Digital Index Maps for some foreign countries are available to help you find the maps you are looking for. The Index maps point to paper maps mostly, but as we digitize more and more maps they will point to digital maps more frequently.
Topographic Maps
The Maps Library has links to numerous online topographic maps:
- 7.5 minute (1:24,000 scale) topographic maps of PA
- 15 minute (1:62,500) topographic maps of PA
- The 2nd Pennsylvania Geological Survey maps
Locating Maps using Georef Database
To find maps using GeoRef, it is best to use the keywords/anywhere selection from the drop-down menu and type in: [place] AND maps (example: Harrisburg AND maps). If you want to limit to a certain type of map you can include terms such as "geologic or topographic" More information on search techniques is available in the GeoRef help files.

Locating Historic Maps (Using the Serial Set Database)
The libraries also have online access to the Serial Set Maps (1789-1969). The serial set contains House and Senate Documents and reports as well as Senate Executive Documents and Reports. The serial set maps are of historical significance, and were previously very difficult to access. The maps have been scanned at high resolution in both black & white and color.
There are two ways to access the maps in the Serial Set:
Check Serial Set Maps on the Advanced form, leaving the drop-down option at the "All fields except full text" default to search: (See the Help files in the database for comprehensive instructions)

"Check ‘Serial Set only’ (and not ‘Serial Set Maps’) to search the map captions in the main bibliographic record for the publication in which the map occurs. The map captions are a component of the illustration caption data. To limit the search to items with illustrations, use the checkbox provided as a Serial Set Only Option. To limit the search to illustration captions only, select "Illustration caption (Serial Set only)" from the search box drop-down list. Maps may be accessed in this way even though the user has not checked the Serial Set Maps option." (See the Help files in the database for more comprehensive instructions)

Recommended Maps Web Sites
Online Atlases and Maps
Mapping from the U.S. Census.
Provides political maps for countries around the world.
Earth View (satellite images)
Up to date satellite images of the earth
Historic USGS Topographic Maps
This site provides digital images of older editions of topographic maps to Northeastern U.S.
Library of Congress Map Collections
A selection from the Library of Congress's historic map collection.
An online interactive world atlas with trip planning and routing information.
U. S. topography. Search by place name. Various scales provided.
NOAA Office of Coast Survey Historical Map and Chart Collection
Over 2,000 scanned images of historical maps and charts, including civil war battlefields, early explorations of the U.S. and world-wide coastlines.
Historical aerial photography of Pennsylvania from 1937 - date.
Pennsylvania County Formation Maps
Shows changes in county boundaries over time.
A large collection of online maps for locations worldwide.
-
PSU Maps Library Online Maps list
By entering a U.S. address, an aerial photo is retrieved. U.S. Geological Survey satellite data are used for the aerial photo of your selected location.
-
This site, hosted by Microsoft, contains aerial photos and satellite images of locations worldwide.
-
U.S. topography. Search by place name or latitude and longitude. Various scales provided.
United Nations Cartographic Section Web Site
Maps and geographic information resources.
Printable maps from the National Geographic Society
Maps and driving directions.
Creating Maps Online
EPA's data mapping facility providing mapping applications that allow you to generate maps that display environmental information for the entire United States.
National Atlas of the United States
This site allows users to create maps illustrating characteristics such as land use, population, and geology. The 1970 National Atlas is also available at the Library of Congress.
National Geographic Society's MapMachine
Contains both a dynamic map interface (choose a theme) and scanned images from National Geographics's Atlas of the World (allows you to zoom in and out).
This resource creates maps showing topographic, political, and even tectonic features.
Geo-data Resources
This web site will allow you to download the boundaries and layers of different countries, in Arc/INFO export format, from ESRI's Digital Chart of the World data set.
The Geospatial One-Stop for access to U.S. government spatial data.
NOAA Surveying & Mapping Products
The National Geophysical Data Center provides a variety of data sets for the U.S. and the world.
Pennyslvania digital data (USGS ftp site)
FTP access to digital cartographic data for the United States. Data sets include: 1:250,000 DEM, 1:24,000 DEM, 1:2,000,000 DLG, 1:100,000 DLG, 1:24,000 DLG, 1:250,000 LULC, and 1:100,000 LULC.
Other Resources
About.com's Geography Topic Site
Extensive list of links to geography-related resources.
The facinating world of maps and mapping.
Search
Contact
Maps Library
1 Paterno Library
University Park, PA 16802
814.863.0094
or your campus library
