"Microform" is a general term used to describe the microfilm, microfiche, or micro-opaques used for the storage of documents that have been photographed and reduced in size in order to conserve space or to preserve materials that deteriorate rapidly. Microform Collections are an important source for historically important, rare, or damaged original sources and may be compiled from a wide range of archives and historical collections to make materials more accessible.
Microform Collections
Notable Collections at Penn State
- Newsbank Urban Affairs Library
- Business and economic development (1975-1980)
- Consumer affairs (1975-1980)
- Education (1970-1980)
- Employment (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Environment (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Government (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Health (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Housing and urban renewal (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Law and order (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Minority economic development (1970-1972)
- Political development (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Race relations (1970-1972)
- Social relations (1975-1980)
- Transportation (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Urban News File (1973-1974, 1975[incomplete])
- Welfare and poverty (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Abraham Lincoln Papers (1833-1916)
How To Find Microforms
Resources at University Park
- Microfinder
- Alphabetical, chronological and subject based guides to over 500 microform collections
- Micro-Indices
- Find relevant guides to microfilm/fiche collections
Other Libraries' Collections
- Microform Research Collections
- British Library Collections
- Covers medieval manuscripts, annotated proofs of the novels of Charles Dickens
- British Home Office papers and records
- Archives of the Soviet Communist Party and State
- 50 miles worth of microfilm of American fiction from 1774 to 1900 and American 18th and 19th century periodicals
Citing Microforms
Since most microform materials found in the Library are simply photographic, miniature reproductions of what had been once a full-size newspaper, book, or magazine, actually citing the format of the publication should be avoided.
The rare exception to this rule is when the nature of the publication is essential information. The fact that you used the microform version of the Journal of Applied Psychology would be important in, say, a study comparing usage of microfilm and paper sources in research. Another instance when the format is important is when the publication is only available in a microformat, such as a letter included in a collection of personal papers, or an ERIC document, to name a few.
The following web sites provide additional documentation and citation styles for citing microforms:
The rare exception to this rule is when the nature of the publication is essential information. The fact that you used the microform version of the Journal of Applied Psychology would be important in, say, a study comparing usage of microfilm and paper sources in research. Another instance when the format is important is when the publication is only available in a microformat, such as a letter included in a collection of personal papers, or an ERIC document, to name a few.
The following web sites provide additional documentation and citation styles for citing microforms:
- Citation and Writing Guides
- Print and web-based citation guides for MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.
- Bibliographic Citations (California State Polytechnic University Library)
- Includes more complex examples, such as formatting materials available on microform (microfiche, microfilm).
- Ex: Groak, James J. Utilization of Library Resources by Students in Non-residential Degree programs. ERIC, 1974. ED 121 236.
- Note how in this example, the resource follows the format for books and includes the name of the microform provider.
