American Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922 [Digital Archive]

- More than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states
- New York Times Historical (available from 1851) [Digital Archive]

- Most recent four years not available
British Newspapers
Historical Newspaper Databases

- Accessible Archives

- Contains three Civil War newspapers (Charleston Mercury, New York Herald, and the Richmond Enquirer)
- They are not in the database: America's Historical Newspapers
- The Performing Arts in Colonial American Newspapers, 1690-1783 [CD-ROM]
- Contains references to music, lyrics, dance and theater found in American newspapers from 1690 to the end of the Revolutionary War (1783)
- Full text transcriptions, a general index, an index of first lines of poems and songs, 37 images of unique woodcuts, and an issue-by-issue bibliography of the 162 titles covered
The periodical press can also be an important source for historical news
- American Periodicals Series (1740-1900) [Digital Archive]

- Over 1,100 periodicals
- British Periodicals [Digital Archive]

- The Economist Historical Archive
- The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2003) (CAT record)
- Periodicals Archive Online (1770-1995)

Microfilm and Microfiche Collections
Back files of hundreds of newspapers are available in the News & Microforms Library. The collection begins in the eighteenth century and includes many Pennsylvania publications.
Use NewsCAT to search for specific titles either alphabetically, by geography or by the time period published. This also includes microfilm collections in the University Libraries.
Use NewsCAT to search for specific titles either alphabetically, by geography or by the time period published. This also includes microfilm collections in the University Libraries.
- Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865
- Approximately 14,000 letters, speeches, editorials, articles, sermons, essays and other documents written by antislavery movement activists
- For more information, consult Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865 : A Guide to the Microfilm Edition
- Black Literature, 1827-1940
- Contains fiction, poetry, book reviews, and literary notices
- Originally published in 900 Black periodicals and newspapers
- Early English Newspapers
- 17th and 18th century English newspapers makes available scarce and deteriorating texts that provide researchers insight into events that might be glossed over in a history book. [Gale Homepage]
- For more information consult Early English Newspapers: Bibliography and Guide to the Microfilm Collection
- The Hampton University Peabody Newspaper Clipping File 1873-1940
- 789 microfiche of newspaper clippings concerning Afro-American history, politics, education, and culture, 1873-1940
- For more information consult the index listed on the CAT record
- The Harbottle Dorr Collection of Annotated Massachusetts newspapers, 1765-1776
- 12 year archive from pre-Revolutionary Boston
- 3,280 pages of annotated newspapers, plus the appended documents and Dorr's own indexes to the four volumes he compiled." [UMI Research Collections - Massachusetts Historical Society Collections]
- For more information, consult the Index to Harbottle Dorr Collection of Annotated Massachusetts Newspapers (1765-1776)
- Herstory
- Collection of women's newspapers, journals and other publications from the 1950s to the 1970s, assembled by the Women's History Research Center
- For more information, consult Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Herstory
- Newsbank Urban Affairs Library
- Microfiche copies of newspaper articles from 150 U.S. newspapers on these topics
- Use the related Index to locate specific articles
- Business and economic development (1975-1980)
- Consumer affairs (1975-1980)
- Education (1970-1980)
- Employment (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Environment (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Government (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Health (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Housing and urban renewal (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Law and order (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Minority economic development (1970-1972)
- Political development (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Race relations (1970-1972)
- Social relations (1975-1980)
- Transportation (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Urban News File (1973-1974, 1975[incomplete])
- Welfare and poverty (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- The Right Wing Collection of the University of Iowa Libraries, 1918-1977
- Serials and ephemera covering the period 1918-1977 from right-wing collections at several universities [Library of Congress]
- Selection of Titles from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
- Full-text of African-American newspapers, periodicals, and books that would be otherwise very difficult to obtain in their original editions
- One of the most significant primary resources for the serious study of African-American history in all of its aspects, with source materials on slavery, slave trade, race, abolitionism, social life, customs, and literature
- For more information, consult the indexes:
- South Carolina Newspapers, 1732-1782
- South Carolina newspapers held by the Charleston Library Society
- For more information, consult the index listed in the CAT record
- The Tuskegee Institute news clippings file [microform]
- Guide to the microfilm edition of the Tuskegee Institute news clippings file
- Underground Newspaper Collection
- Includes more than 435 diverse titles, many from the alternative press movement of the 1960s
- Consult the guide to see which issues are on microfilm, Underground Newspaper Collection (microform) (index)
- The Underground & Alternative Press in Britain (1974-1975)
- Contains alternative and underground newspapers
- For more information, consult index listed in the CAT record
- Voices from Wartime France, 1939 -1945:
- Clandestine Resistance and Vichy Newspapers from the British Library at Colindale, London
- Offers the complete French holdings of the British Library Newspaper Library at Colindale, London
- For more information, consult Primary Source Media
Newspapers As Historical Sources: Reference Sources
- Ayer Directory of Publications (1880-1982)
- Published annually
- A listing of newspapers and periodicals
- Subject listings, such as culinary and housekeeping, fashion, matrimonial, millinery, woman's handiwork, and women's clubs (these categories became increasingly detailed over time)
- In 1987, it was continued by Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
- The Library of Congress offers volumes online: Rowell's & Ayer's American Newspaper Directory
- The Waterloo Directory of English Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 (20 volumes)
- Directory to the largest single body of historical documents arising out of nineteenth century England at the height of the British Empire. [North Waterloo Academic Press homepage]
- The Waterloo Directory of Irish Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 (one volume)
- Alphabetical listing and description of publications in Ireland in all fields, including the arts, sciences, professions, trades, labour, agriculture, industry, entertainment, sport, church and home [North Waterloo Academic Press]
- The Waterloo Directory of Scottish Newspapers and Periodicals, 1800-1900 (two volumes)
- Alphabetical listing and description of newspaper and periodical publications in Scotland in all fields, including the arts, sciences, professions, trades, labour, agriculture, industry, entertainment, sport, church, children, women and finance [North Waterloo Academic Press]
- Willing's Press Guide (1974-1987)
- A concise and comprehensive index to the press of the United Kingdom
Additional newspaper sources
- Ayer Directory of Publications (1880-1982) (Library of Congress)
- Mapping Asia Newspapers
- Newspaper holdings information in United Kingdom Libraries
- Searchable by title, city, county and language
- Does not include newspapers published in Europe or America
- Center for Research Libraries Newspaper Collection

- ICON : International Coalition on Newspapers
- Contains over 25,000 records pertaining to global newspapers and holding libraries
- The Library of Congress Newspaper & Current Periodical Reading Room
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
- Search the Directory for libraries that own holdings of specific historical newspapers
- Newspaper Archives/Indexes/Morgues
- Newspapers on Microfilm
