Articles and Databases
- California News Index (1971-1975)
- Contains subject index, name index and geographic index
- Includes Los Angeles Times, San Francisco Chronicle and more
- Index to Black Newspapers (1977-1978, 1988-1989)
- Indexes local, regional, state, national and international news
- Includes NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, New Pittsburgh Courier and more
- Index to Readex microfilm collection of Early American Newspapers
- Includes index by masthead title
- Index to the Schomburg clipping file
- Periodical and newspaper clippings, pamphlets, etc.
- General file and subjects relating to Africa index
- The National Newspaper Index (1979-1988)
- New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Christian Science Monitor
- Newsbank Urban Affairs Library
- Microfiche copies of newspaper articles from 150 U.S. newspapers
- Use the related index to locate specific topics/articles
- Business and economic development (1975-1980)
- Consumer affairs (1975-1980)
- Education (1970-1980)
- Employment (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Environment (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Government (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Health (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Housing and urban renewal (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Law and order (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Minority economic development (1970-1972)
- Political development (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Race relations (1970-1972)
- Social relations (1975-1980)
- Transportation (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
- Urban News File (1973-1974, 1975[incomplete])
- Welfare and poverty (1970-1972, 1975-1980)
Websites
The following online archive searches will allow the user to conduct a search through the historical archives for an article and, in many cases, an obituary. Charges may apply if the user chooses to view the full text.
Additional Resources
- Newspaper Indexes : a location and subject guide for researchers, Milner, Anita Cheek (3 vols; 1977-1982)
- NewsCAT provides information on the years of coverage and content level (full or selective) for each newspaper.
- Use Micro-Indices to determine if the News & Microforms Library owns a print index to a newspaper.
- Hint: Search by Keyword and check box E (limit search to Newspaper indexes)
- Use Microfinder for alphabetical, chronological and subject based guides to over 500 microform collections.
- For further information, see How do I Find Online Text for a Specific Newspaper.
- ASK for help at the News and Microforms Library or Campus Library.
