Articles and Databases
- Daily Collegian (1887-1987) [Digital Archive]

- Photo captions can be searched by keyword
- New York Times Historical (available from 1851) [Digital Archive]

- Most recent three years not available
- Hint: using the Advanced Search option, change the "Citation and document text" field to "Document type", then browse to "Photo Standalone"
- PressDisplay

- Over 1000 newspapers in 39 languages
- Most recent 60 days
- Printing instructions
- The Times of London (1785-1985) [Digital Archive]

- Hint: using the Advanced Search option, change the KeyWord (ke) field to Illustration (il)
- Magnum Photos Collection via ArtStor
- Enter ArtStor Digital library
- Browse Collections
- Choose Magnum Photos by right clicking for the option of small or large thumbnails, or click on the "+" to expand for geographic options
- More than 3,000 high-quality photographs of major world events and personalities
Award Winners
- The Best of Photojournalism National Press Photographers Association (U.S.)
- Online annual contest winners and entries:
- Best of Photojournalism : Still Photography
- Best of Television Photojournalism
- Pulitzer Prize Photographs - to find photos click on the appropriate year
- Capture the Moment- Exhibit of 130 Pulitzer Prize Photographs
- We also have three books in our collection:
- Moments: the Pulitzer Prize photographs, Sheryle Leekley (1982)
- Moments: Pulitzer Prize-winning photographs: a visual chronicle, Hal Buell (2002)
- Capture the moment: the Pulitzer Prize photographs, Cyma Rubin (2001)
Magazine Photos
- News photographer (National Press Photographers Association)
- World press photo Haagse Gemeentemuseum (Annual volume)
Websites
- The Digital Journalist
- A monthly Web magazine
- Life Photo Archive (via Google)
- Mostly unpublished photographs from the 1750s to today
Newspaper Photos
Use NewsCAT to identify which newspapers we also own on microfilm in the University Libraries.
Websites
- Page One Today
- Weekday newspaper front pages from somewhere around the world
- Highlighted by David Shedden, Library Director of the Poynter Institute
- Today's Front Pages
- More than 750 front pages from 70 countries in digital format, updated daily
- Provides links to each newspaper's website
- Archival front pages of major recent world events or notable people such as Senator Kennedy, Walter Cronkite and President Obama's first days in office
- Newspaper Collection
- News and Microforms Library to locate recently published photos, browse issues in nearly 75 newspapers
Archives & Collections
Websites
- BBC News: In Pictures
- Provides the 'Day In Pictures'
- Gives prominence to world news, sport and weather along with the BBC's international radio and TV services
- Pictoral Journalism (Library of Congress)
- Several premiere archives of pictorial journalism
- Includes several thousand drawings by Civil War artist-correspondents
- Studio archives of several early news photographic agencies
- Bain News Service and the National Photo Company
- Morgues of such publications as Look magazine, the New York World Telegram and Sun, and U.S.News and World Report
- New York World Telegram and Sun (1890s-1967)
- Reuters Pictures
- Global information company
- Provides information tailored for professionals in the financial services, media and corporate markets
- Includes up-to-the-minute news photographs
- 10 x 10
- "Top 100" news photos for a given time period (starting with 2004)
- Catalogue of Photographs
- British Library holdings
- Detailed searchable database for locating photographs, photographically-illustrated books and texts relating to photography
Articles About News Photos
If you are looking for articles (in newspapers or magazines) about controversial news photos, use any of these databases to locate articles:
Suggested Keywords
|
|
Check the CAT for books such as these:
- Body horror: photojournalism, catastrophe, and war, John Taylor (1998)
- Landscapes of the Civil War: newly discovered photographs from the Medford Historical Society
- Shooting under fire: the world of the war photographer, Constance Sullivan (1995)
- War photographer [videorecording]
- All the mighty world: the photographs of Roger Fenton, 1852-1860, Gordon Baldwin (2004)
- Roger Fenton, photographer of the 1850s: [exhibition] Hayward Gallery, London, 4 February to 17 April 1988, Roger Fenton and Hayward Gallery (1988)
- Shoot First and ask questions later: media coverage of the 2003 Iraq War, Justin Lewis (2006)
