Databases
- Access World News (NewsBank)

- News programming from The Associated Press, Reuters, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, local affiliates of ABC, NBC, CBS, and Fox, as well as coverage from Canadian Broadcasting, Agence France-Presse and more
- World News Connection

- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1974-1996)
- First release : Series 2 includes Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) 1974-1980; South Asia (SAS) 1980-1987; Africa (Sub-Sahara) (AFR) 1987-1988; Sub-Saharan Africa (AFR) 1988-1996
Network Video News Archives (U.S.)
DatabasesWebsites
- CNN News
- CNN News Video via Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1995-present)
- C-SPAN Search:
- Search for video content by search terms, date, series or category
- FOX News
- Fox News Archive (Nov. 2005 to date)
- NBC Television News
- via Vanderbilt Television News Archive (1968-present)
- PBS
- WPSU
- Use this search engine to find broadcasts from this local broadcast station
- WGBH Text Database
- Click on "Text Database" in upper right in order to search from over 30,000 entries
- Frontline
- Has 54 reports online for viewing
- NOW
- Weekly TV news program, goes behind the headlines to report on how corporations and government policies effect society and America's democracy
- WPSU
International
Databases
- Access World News (NewsBank)

- News programming from The Associated Press, Reuters, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, local affiliates of ABC, NBC, CBS, and Fox, as well as coverage from Canadian Broadcasting, Agence France-Presse and more
- World News Connection

- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1974-1996)

- First release : Series 2 includes Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA) 1974-1980; South Asia (SAS) 1980-1987; Africa (Sub-Sahara) (AFR) 1987-1988; Sub-Saharan Africa (AFR) 1988-1996
- Al Jazeera (English)
- The English version of the website aljazeera.net
- BBC
- Includes news, information, and comments gathered from mass media around the world
- Languages (news and audio in 33 languages)
- British Universities Newsreel Database (BUND)
- Over 180,000 British newsreels and over 80,000 digitized newsreel documents
- LinkTV
- Programs that provide a unique perspective on international news, current events, and diverse cultures, presenting issues not often covered in the U.S. media
- Voice of America
- More than 1,000 hours of news, information, educational, and cultural programming every week to an estimated worldwide audience of more than 115 million people
- SCOLA
- Penn State access account required. Free multicultural learning resources for instructors of foreign languages at Penn State, including television and radio programming from around the world in native languages
- 100+ countries
- 95+ languages
- News, drama, children’s programming
- 24/7 SCOLA television programming (channel 29 on the Penn State network)
Historical News Programming
Print
- Newsreels 1964-67, Steven Schoenherr, (2004)
- This DVD contains a selection of newsreels made by Universal International News
- Stay Tuned: Television's Unforgettable Moments, Joe Garner, (2002)
- We interrupt this broadcast: the events that stopped our lives-- : from the Hindenburg explosion to the attacks of September 11, Joe Garner, (2002)
Archive Collections
DatabasesWebsites
- Museum of Broadcast Communications
- Premiere broadcast museum in America and home to the only National Radio Hall of Fame
- The Paley Center for Media
- Nonprofit organization founded by William S. Paley in 1975
- Collects and preserves television and radio programs and to make these programs available to the public
- Motion Picture Television and Reading Room
- Television in the Library of Congress
- The granddaddy of television archives
- Library of American Broadcasting
- Wide-ranging collection of audio and video recordings, books, pamphlets, periodicals, personal collections, oral histories, photographs, and scripts devoted exclusively to the history of broadcasting
- Along with searchable databases of the library's holdings are a special on-line exhibits and photographs
- Television News of the Civil Rights Era 1950-1970 from the Virginia Center for Digital History at the University of Virginia
- Aims to collect, digitize, and present in streaming video format over the World Wide Web television news footage from the period and to make these valuable materials available to scholars, teachers, and students
- This project is currently a research work in progress
- We are continually updating this project as research on these films progresses
- MBC Archives (Museum of Broadcast Communications)
- Access to over 7,000 digitizes TV and radio programs from the MBC archives
- Registration (free) is required
Website Locators
- Digital Librarian
- Index to audio, video and multimedia websites
- News Sources from Pennsylvania
- via Kidon Media-Link: Click or scroll to Broadcast News to find television stations
Search Engines
Websites
- blinkx
- Watches TV clips
- Understands what they are about and can take you straight to the relevant point inside the video
- AOL Video
- Millions of free, high quality videos
- Music videos, news clips, movie trailers, viral videos, and full-length TV shows
- ShadowTV
- Provide all-digital continuous-access to live and archived television content via the Web
- Everyzing
- Allows users to find audio and video content based on keyword searches and then skim the results for relevance the same way they would for text
- Truveo
- Powers websites that reach over 40 million unique visitors every month
- Google Video
- Contains millions of videos indexed and available for viewing
- Search for and watch an ever-growing collection of TV shows, movie clips, music videos, documentaries, personal productions and more from all over the Web
- MSN Video Search
- Allows users to search for content from television news sources, including MSNBC, Dateline NBC, NBC Nightly News and the Today Show
- Yahoo! TV
- Search engine that allows users to find information about tv shows, news shows and watch videos online
- Yahoo Video Search
- Allows users to search for video content by limiting to specific domain (.com, .edu, .org)
- B Roll Online
- Supplies information, tips, and discussions on photography, news, and the entire Television Medium
