Periodicals and Journals
The table below can help you understand the differences between scholarly journals, professional/trade journals, and popular periodicals.
Searching for scholarly journals:
Ulrich's Web: This index to periodicals provides detailed information such as price, frequency, and whether the publication contains peer-reviewed (i.e., scholarly) articles.
ProQuest: This database allows you to limit your search by type of periodical.
Peer Reviewed = Scholarly?
Not always. Scholarly implies an academic audience whereas some non-scholarly works can undergo editorial review or review by peers.
Criteria | Scholarly Journals | Professional/Trade Journals | Popular Periodicals/ Magazines |
| Audience | Researchers and experts | Members of a trade or profession | The general public |
| Author | Researchers and experts | Staff writers and experts in the field | Staff writers, although many articles are unsigned |
| References (Sources cited) | Includes reference lists and bibliography. All quotes and facts are documented. | Reference lists sometimes included. | References rarely included. |
| Purpose | To disseminate research findings | To publicize current topics in the field and professional issues | To disseminate general information or to entertain |
| Content | Detailed research reports and methodologies | Trends, standards, and new technologies in the field | General interest stories and news; may include personal narrative and opinions |
| Language | Jargon that assumes expertise in the field | Jargon that assumes expertise in the field | Language that requires no expertise |
| Publisher | Associations or universities | Associations | Commercial organizations |
| Layout | Highly structured organization; includes abstract, bibliography, charts or graphs | Structured organization; usually includes abstract, bibliography, charts or graphs | Informal organization: eye-catching type and format; includes illustrations or photographs |
| Examples | Journal of the American Medical Association; Political Science Quarterly | Hospital Business Week; Real Estate Weekly News; Farm Industry News | Time; Newsweek; Science News |
