- Complete Speech Collections
- Presidential Documents
- Newspapers, Magazines and Journals
- Websites for Speeches
Complete Speech Collections
Vital Speeches of the Day
Vital speeches of the day is also available full-text (1999 to the present) via ProQuest.
American Orators before 1900 : critical studies and sources edited by Bernard K. Duffy and Halford R. Ryan
American Orators of the Twentieth Century : critical studies and sources edited by Bernard K. Duffy and Halford R. Ryan
Historical Speeches through Transcripts (CD-ROM set)
Index to American Women Speakers, 1828-1978 Beverly Manning
We Shall be Heard: an index to speeches by American women, 1978 to 1985 Beverly Manning.
Presidential Documents
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States, 1929-
Speeches, press conferences, and public papers of each president. Issued annually. Also available online via the Government Printing Office
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Updates the Public Papers of the President between volumes. Also available online via the Government Printing Office
Newspapers, Magazines and Journals
Newspapers and magazines sometimes pick up key speeches, particularly from prominent political figures. The databases listed below are important sources for locating very current speeches.
ProQuest
Provides access to summaries of articles from over 5,000 publications, including a wide variety of periodicals, newspapers, and business sources. Many articles are available in full-text.
ProQuest also provides the full-text of Vital Speeches of the Day (1999-Present).
America's Newspapers (NewsBank) provides full-text access to a variety of other newspapers from throughout the U.S. This resource is especially useful for finding regional/local coverage of a specific speech.
LexisNexis Academic
LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database containing newspapers, transcripts, magazines, and case law materials.
Websites for Speeches
Collections of Speeches
- Douglass Archives of American Public Address
- Gifts of Speech : Women's Speeches from Around the World
- History and Politics Out Loud
- History Channel.com : Historical Speeches
- Landon Lecture Series Archive
- Online Speech Bank (American Rhetoric.com)
- Speech and Transcript Center
- Speeches and Speechmakers : University of Iowa
Presidential / Political Speeches
- American Leaders Speak : Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election
- Castro Speech Database
- Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States
- Presidential Rhetoric
- Rhetoric of 9/11
- Selected Speeches of Winston Churchill
- The White House : Presidential Speeches
Speeches by Business Leaders
