Skip to content

Background Information

Library Resources are available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account. Resources not labeled Library Resource are available to all researchers.

Industry, Company Information

IBIS World (Library Resource). 700 full-text industry reports, 700 US industry risk rating reports, Information on over 8000 Publicly Traded Companies, economic and demographic profiles

Hoover's Online (Library Resource).Proprietary company and industry information

LexisNexis Academic (Library Resource).Industry and Company (private and public) reports.

CRS Reports [via LexisNexis Congressional] (Library Resource). Provides a great historical overview of the issues facing industry in the United States. These reports are submitted to congressional committees.

Local, City, Town or Community

Cities of the World (in the Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Library Resource).

Cities of the United States (in the Gale Virtual Reference Library) (Library Resource).

The United State Conference of Mayors provides a directory of mayors and links to city web pages. This site also contains comprehensive reports from surveys of major metropolitan areas in the United States.

State

National Conference of State Legislatures provides information on a wide range of issue areas.

LexisNexis State Capitol (Library Resource) provides state-related resources such as legislature magazines, journals, reports, and newspapers on policy issues.

USA.gov, "the U.S. government's official web portal", maintains a comprehensive list of state government web sites.

Country

Country Analysis Guide [Penn State Libraries' Research Guide]

News Resources

World News Connection (Library Resource). Best resource for finding newspapers from larger cities of the world.

America's Newspapers [Newsbank] (Library Resource). Best resource for finding local newspapers to explore local issues.

PressDisplay [Electronic Image Databases] (Library Resource) provides a global perspective on world events and news.

Newspaper and News Sources [Penn State Libraries' Research Guide]

International Government Organizations

International Organzations Search Engine.  A specialized search engine designed to search across a wide variety of International  Intergovernmental Organizations.

United Nations
UN Millennium Development Goals

UNRISD: UN Research Institute for Social Development -- an autonomous UN agency engaging in multidisciplinary research on the social dimensions of contemporary problems affecting development

United Nations Capital Development Fund

WIDER World Institute for Development Economics Research

UN Development Programme

Access UNDP [Readex] (Library Resource) Index to historical reports of the UNDP from 1972-1998. Reports are available in microfiche in the Social Sciences Library [2nd Floor Paterno Library].

Evaluation Resource Center --  a library of evaluation reports of projects.

Human Development Report -- includes global, regional and national reports from 1990-to date

International Monetary Fund 

World Bank e-Library (Library Resource).

Projects & Operations  -- thousands of project reports and documents related to WB funding programs.

Global Development Learning Network-- a partnership of over 120 recognized global institutions (Affiliates) in over 80 countries that collaborates in the design of customized learning solutions for individuals and organizations working in development.

World Health Organization

Data and Statistics

World Health Reports

Regional publications

SourceOECD (Library Resource).

European Union [Penn State Libraries' Research Guide]

Unicef  -- Includes the State of the World's Children report.


Development Banks

Policy Groups, Think Tanks, and Associations

PolicyFile (Library Resource)

CIAO [Columbia International Affairs Online] (Library Resource)

Associations Unlimited (Library Resource).

Nongovernmental Organizations Search Engine -- specialized google search designed to search just NGO organizations.

Yearbook of International Organizations (Library resource)

Article Databases

EconLit (Library Resource).

Sociological Abstracts (Library Resource).

Social Sciences Citation Index (Library Resource).

Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (Library Resource). Great resource for finding articles related to the environment and resource management related to urbanization.

GEOBASE (Library Resource)

Statistics

LexisNexis Statistical (international, state, local) (Library Resource)

World Development Indicators (Library Resource) Country statistics

World Urbanization Prospects: The 2007 Revision Population Database

State Data Center Programs Many state data centers have local data and statistical reports. The work very closely with regional planning commissions.

Pennsylvania State Data Center

Pennsylvania County Data Books Paper copies. Latest edition is available in the Social Sciences Library Reference Collection. Previous editions in 3rd Paterno Stacks.

Local Employment Dynamics

Census Economic Programs

Bureau of Economic Affairs (BEA) [U.S. Department of Commerce]

Key Journals

Browse HT : Communities

It may be worth your while to browse the physical collection (HT 1-600) in the 2nd Floor Paterno Library Stacks. The categories below generally describe how the collection is organized:

  • HT 1-100 Human settlements, Communities
  • HT 101-400 Urban groups, The city, Urban sociology
    • 101-120 General
    • 121-149 By region or country
    • 150- 165.4 General
    • 165.5-169 City planning
    • 170-200 Urban renewal
    • 201-240 Urban population
    • 241-250 Urban ecology
    • 251-280 Mental and moral life
    • 281-320 Recreation, Amusements
    • 321-329 Urban economics
    • 330-360 Metropolitan and suburban areas
    • 361-387 Urbanization: City and country
    • 388-400 Regional planning
  • HT 401-600 Rural groups, Rural sociology

Search


Contact

Subject Specialist
Stephen Woods
814-865-0665

Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib

or your Commonwealth Campus Library



Get Help