Starting Places
Get Registered!
In most states you have to register to vote at least 30 days ahead of time. USA.gov has links to all the state elections offices with information on how to get registered.Project Vote Smart
A non-partisan site with information about candidates for federal and state offices. All you need to know to get started is your zip code. Check out their "2008 Voter's Self Defense Manual".Election 2008 from C-Span
Another great non-partisan site to get you started.CQPolitics
Long known for its objective reporting, Congressional Quarterly will give you everything you need to follow the fall campaigns.
Fact Checking
PolitiFact
"Sorting out the truth in politics". A project of the St. Petersburg Times and Congressional Quarterly.FactCheck.org
From the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania, Factcheck.org is "a non-partisan, nonprofit, "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics".
The Electoral College
The U.S. Electoral College
The official National Archives site for the college.The Electoral College
A booklet (pdf) from the Federal Election Commission.Presidential Selection: A Guide to Reform
From the University of Virginia Center for Governmental Studies.National Popular Vote
An advocacy group for the direct election of the President.
Political Parties
Alphabetical list of parties in the U.S. from Project Vote Smart. Includes
Democratic Party Affiliated Sites
Republican Party Affiliated Sites
Campaign Finance
Federal Election Commission
"In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) — the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections."OpenSecrets.org
"Your guide to the money in elections."CampaignMoney.com
"The purpose of campaignmoney.com, a non-partisan Web site, is to make available in the easiest way possible the names of financial donors to federal political campaigns. These records are a matter of public record provided by the Federal Election Commission. There is no charge for perusing the lists on campaignmoney.com".Follow the Money
"The National Institute on Money in State Politics is the only non-partisan, nonprofit organization revealing the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states."
Polls and Statistics
Census Bureau : Voting and Registration
"This government site provides voting and registration statistics from population surveys conducted by the Census Bureau, along with population estimates, historical time-series data, and research reports." [College & Research Library News, 69 (1), p.18]American National Election Studies (ANES)
"ANES has been collecting data about elections since 1948, creating a vast series of data and research reports about political participation and electoral behavior that are available through the site." [College & Research Library News, 69 (1), p.19-20]PresidentPolls2008.com
Likely one of the most comprehensive list of links to Election 2008 polls.PollingReport.com : election 2008
"An independent, non-partisan resource on trends in American public opinion."ElectoralVote.com
"Welcome to Electoral Vote Predictor, which tracks political polls for federal elections."Election 2008 Polls
This Web site includes links for many different polling sites.Election projection : 2008 Edition
"Projecting the upcoming elections - and commenting on things along the way" [blog and polls]Pollster
"Pollster tracks, aggregates, and analyzes political polls (including presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial races). The site provides links to other polling and survey research groups and resources, and has a very helpful FAQ page that explains how political polling is done. [College & Research Library News, 69 (1), p.20]
Mass Media Web Sites
Yahoo! : Events : Election 2008
Includes links to register to vote onlineChannel '08 : The 2008 Election on Video [Washington Post]
2008 Presidential Election - Issues News Sections [Politics Today]
PolitiFact.com [Petersburg Times]
"PolitiFact is a project of the St. Petersburg Times and Congressional Quarterly to help you find the truth in the presidential campaign."AlterNet : Election 2008
"AlterNet is an award-winning news magazine and online community that creates original journalism and amplifies the best of dozens of other independent media sources. AlterNet's aim is to inspire citizen action and advocacy on the environment, human rights and civil liberties, social justice, media, and health care issues. Our editorial mix underscores a commitment to fairness, equity and global stewardship, and making connections across generational, ethnic and issue lines."ColorsNW Election Coverage 2008
"ColorsNW's mission is to illuminate issues relevant to communities of color through high-quality, enlightening and thought-provoking content. Integrity, professionalism and dedication to open and balanced dialogues will be our guides. Through education and exposure we will foster pride and mutual respect among people of all cultures and ethnicities."Real Clear Politics
"Founded in 2000 by John McIntyre and Tom Bevan, Chicago-based RealClearPolitics.com (RCP) has become one of America's premier independent political web sites. Updated every morning and throughout the day, RCP culls and publishes the best commentary, news, polling data, and links to important resources from all points of the political compass and covering all the important issues of the day."YouTube Politicians Channel
Get video direct from the Campaigns
Foreign Media Web Sites
US Election 2008 : RTÉ News [Ireland]
Elections 2008 : GuardianUnlimited Elections 2008 : GuardianUnlimited [United Kingdom]
Race for the White House 08 : The Sydney Morning Herald [Australia]
Elections 2008 : Telegraph [United Kingdom]
US Election 2008 : Economist.com [Great Britain]
Channel 4 : US Election 2008 [United Kingdom]
Focus: US Elections 2008 : Al Jazeera English [Doha, Qatar]
"Al Jazeera English is the world's first global English language news channel to be headquartered in the Middle East. From this unique position, Al Jazeera English is destined to be the English-language channel of reference for Middle Eastern events, balancing the current typical information flow by reporting from the developing world back to the West and from the southern to the northern hemisphere. The channel gives voice to untold stories, promotes debate, and challenges established perceptions."2008 : Race for the White House : Angus Reid Global Monitor [British Columbia, Canada]
US Election 2008 : Der Spiegel [Germany]
Special Interest Web Sites
- Calculate Taxes under the McCain and Obama Tax Plans
Featured in a Newsweek article, this web site allows you to input information on your income (anonymously) and calculate what your taxes would be under each of the candidates' proposed plans. ColorsNW Election Coverage 2008
"ColorsNW's mission is to illuminate issues relevant to communities of color through high-quality, enlightening and thought-provoking content. Integrity, professionalism and dedication to open and balanced dialogues will be our guides. Through education and exposure we will foster pride and mutual respect among people of all cultures and ethnicities."Foreign Policy Association : Election 2008
"...[T]he Foreign Policy Association's Forum for the 2008 Presidential Election. This blog will follow developments leading up to the November contest, focusing specifically on foreign policy and international affairs issues."USAVotes (Voice of America)
VOA is a not-for-profit broadcasting organization run by the U.S. Government. The site discusses key election issues such as foreign policy, Iraq, Iran, etc. in a non-partisan way.TechPresident
"This group blog, a project of the Personal Democracy Forum, focuses on how the Web is being used by presidential campaigns, and how the read-write, interactive nature of the Web allows the public to create content that becomes part of the campaign conversation." [College & Research Library News, 69 (1), p.19]CampusPolitico
The Politico's companion Web site, CampusPolitico "focuses on college-age voters, and includes links to social networking sites and downloadable widgets that provide updated blog postings from Politico writers." [College & Research Library News, 69 (1), p.18]The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies
"The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies is one of the nation's premier research and public policy institutions and the only one whose work focuses exclusively on issues of particular concern to African Americans and other people of color. The Joint Center's current research and analyses address critical issues in three key areas: political participation; economic advancement; and health policy."Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP)
"The Center for American Women and Politics (CAWP) is a university-based research, education and public service center. Its mission is to promote greater knowledge and understanding about women's participation in politics and government and to enhance women's influence and leadership in public life."Election 2008
From the Council on Foreign Relations, "a nonpartisan resource for information and analysis". Includes links to podcasts, expert testimony before Congress, and publications by experts in fields related to foreign relations.Electoral Geography 2.0 : Mapping Politics
Electoral geography [...] studies regularities and patterns of election results. [...] Electoral geography is more than just maps and data; it's also a socio-political analysis of voting trends in the world's 192 countries.
For Kids (and Teachers)
Just for Fun
If you start taking it all too seriously -- try these.
Indecision 2008 [Comedy Central]
Political Cartoons of Election 2008
From Caffeinated Politics : Coffee Shop Banter in Cyber SpaceCup O Politics
"Original political comedy parody videos written by monologue writers from Letterman and formerly Leno. It's all about the jokes. Meet the Press we ain't."War for the Whitehouse (From the Onion)
National Journal Political Stock Exchange
"A free fantasy political stock market. NJPSE players predict specific political outcomes, including every aspect of the 2008 presidential, congressional and gubernatorial races."
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Helen M. Sheehy
814-863-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
