The Social Sciences Library, Second Floor Paterno Library, is a depository for European Union publications and maintains an extensive collection of documents and supporting materials. Materials are collected to serve the research and teaching needs of Penn State faculty, staff, and students, as well as the larger Pennsylvania community. These materials include:
About the European Union
- The EU at a Glance
The European Union : A Guide for Americans from the European Commission Delegation to the United States
Key Databases
- The CAT
Documents in the Libraries' EU Collection are listed in the CAT LexisNexis Statistical
Any publication of significant statistical value will be listed in this index. [Note: LexisNexis is available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account]Eur-Lex
Access to European Union lawEU Press Room
Includes press releases, press packs, press services, and the Europa newsletterEUROSTAT
Web site of the Statistical Office of the European CommunitiesPublic Opinion (Eurobarometer)
Web site of the "Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission"Europa Information Sources
Complete list of EU databases by subject
Key Documents
- General Report on the Activities of the European Union
Bulletin of the European Union
Monthly summary of EU activitiesSummaries of Legislation
A good place to get an overview of current EU legislative activitiesOfficial Journal
The record of all legislation and regulations from the EU- Journal officiel de la Communauté européenne du charbon et de l'acier
Journal officiel des Communautés européennes. Communication et informations
Official Journal of the European Communities. Information and notices
Official Journal of the European Union. Information and notices
Official Journal of the European Union. L & C, Legislation, information and notices
Working Documents
Reports of the European ParliamentOpinions and Reports [Economic and Social Committee of the European Communities]
Documents Commission of the European Communities
Commission documents include the text of proposed legislation and green papers from the Commission.Eurostat
To find Eurostat publications in the Penn State Libraries, do a Keyword search in the CAT using Eurostat as your search term.European Economy
Reports and Studies
Official Servers of the European Union
- The Commission of the European Union
Europa
The main Commission Home PageEuropean Union : Delegation of the European Commission to the United States
One of the very best web sites to locate information, and the place to go for information about US/EU relations. Be sure to try their A-Z index.
A directory of other Representation to Third Countries and International OrganisationsOther European Union offices in member states can also provide a rich source of information on a country's position on EU policies:
- The EU in the United Kingdom
EUROPA @ Internet
The European Documentation Center in Valencia, Spain also maintains an excellent homepage. In Spanish.
Complete List of Representations of the European Commission in the Member States
The Council of the European Union
Presidency Web sites
Presidency of the Council rotates every 6 months.
Single Currency
- European Central Bank
the euro from the European Central Bank Web site
Courts
- Curia
Internet site for The Court of Justice of the European Communities European Court of Human Rights
this is NOT an EU institution but many people think it is.
- Curia
Other Agencies
Other Good Starting Points
European Union Research Guide (University of California at Berkeley Library)
One of the most comprehensive lists with an excellent collection of treaties and other documents as well as links to important EU-related sites. While this is geared to research at the UC Berkeley Library, many of the resources are also available at the Penn State University Libraries.European Information Association
"An international network for EU information specialists"European Documentation Centre (EDC) (University of Mannheim)
European Union Research (New York University School of Law, Law Library)
European Union Center of Excellence (University of Wisconsin, Madison)
European Information (University of Exeter Library)
Indexes
Many documents received since early 1986 can be located in the Penn State Libraries' online catalog, the CAT. To locate earlier materials and microfiche collections, specialized indexes are needed. If you can not locate what you need in the CAT please consult with the Social Sciences Library staff on 2nd Floor Paterno Library. As an depository library, the Penn State University Libraries have direct, free access to a number of EU databases based in Brussels and Luxembourg.
Much of the collection is accessible only through specialized indexes and abstracts. The most important indexes are listed below.
Bibliographie Parlement européen, 1970-2003 / European Parliament bibliography, 1970-2003
Contains bibliographic references to material published about the European Parliament and its activities over the period 1970-2003 in the member states of the European Union.LexisNexis Academic
This online full-text database provides access to the EU legislation, case law, and news material. Access is available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account.Documents. Annual catalogue, Commission of the European Communities
The primary print index to the European Union microfiche collections. Available in the Social Sciences Library Reference Collection.Bulletin of the European Union
Reviews the work of the EU institutions and gives citations to major documents and publications. Available in the Social Sciences Library Reference Collection. Also available in ,acronym>CD-ROM format.Quick Guide to the Institutions and Legislative Publications of the European Union
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Helen Sheehy
814-865-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
