Federal regulations are written by executive agencies, to enforce the statutes passed by Congress. They have the force of law, and provide detailed instructions on how agencies intend to enforce laws. In the same manner as federal laws, federal regulations are published in 2 ways and are available in print and electronic form.
The Federal Register (FR)
The chronological version of new regulations, proposed rules, and notices from Federal Agencies.The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
A codified version of the laws (arranged by topic) with all obsolete rules removed.
Federal Register
Online
GPO Access
includes 1994 to the presentHein Online
includes 1936 to the present
Hint:Choose Federal Register Library. Only online source for older issues of FR but has a substantial time lag on most recent issues.LexisNexis Academic
includes 1980 to the presentHint: click on "Legal"
Choose Federal and State Codes from left-hand menu
Choose Federal Register from "Sources" drop-down menu
Westlaw Campus
includes 1981 to the presentHint: under select database, choose Federal Register.
Federal Register
Call number: KF70 .A2
Legal Alcove, Social Sciences Library Reference Collection
2nd Floor Paterno Library
Code of Federal Regulations
Online
GPO Access
includes 1996 to the presentHein Online
includes 1936 to the present
Hint: Choose CFR Library. Only online source for older editions.LexisNexis Academic
current editionHint: click on "Legal"
Choose Federal and State Codes from left-hand menu
Choose Code of Federal Regulations from "Sources" drop-down menu
Westlaw Campus
current editionHint: under "select database", choose Code of Federal Regulations
Code of Federal Regulations
Call number: KF70.A3
Legal Alcove, Social Sciences Library Reference Collection
2nd Floor Paterno Library
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Helen M. Sheehy
814-863-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
