Searching for Books
The CAT
Look for books, government documents, and more in the University Libraries' collection. Also, use The CAT to determine what journals the Libraries subscribe to in both print and electronic formats.If an item you need is not owned by Penn State you may want to search and see if it is available at another library. Please allow at least 2 weeks for material to arrive.
WorldCat (OCLC)
Holdings from more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. You may request directly from WorldCat if the University Libraries does not own an item.CIC University Libraries (Big Ten)
Search all the library catalogs of the Big TenE-ZBorrow
Pennsylvania Academic Libraries (PALCI)
Searching for Journal Articles
The University Libraries own thousands of journals in both print and electronic format. Search The CAT (above) to see if we own a particular title. The following are links to lists of many of the e-journals we own. You may want to search other social sciences categories, as well.
E-Journal Lists
Key databases
GeoBase
Geography, geology, ecologySociological Abstracts
Premier database in sociologyWorldwide Political Science Abstracts
Primary database for political scienceEconLit
EconomicsPeace Research Abstracts
The only database to focus on peace and conflict issues.Online Geographical Bibliography
books, pamphlets, articles received in the America Geographical Society Library since 1985
Citation Tracking
Find out where an article you are reading has been cited by other scholars.
Social Sciences Citation Index
part of the Web of Science (along with Science Citation Index and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index)
Statistics and Data
U.S. Statistics
International Statistics
- UN Comtrade
MBS Online (UN Monthly Bulletin of Statistics)
UN Common Database (UNStats)
LatinoBarometro
Latin American Polling Data
Data Sets
- ICPSR (InterUniversity Consortium for Political and Social Research)
depository of large, downloadable data sets iPoll (Roper)
Downloadable polling data. National and InternationalLatinoBarometro
Latin American Polling Data. Data that is downloaded can be manipulated further and has subnational information.
Policy and Working Papers
- CIAO (International Affairs)
OxResearch (Oxford Analytica)
PolicyFile (Public Policy Research and Analysis)
SourceOECD (economic policy)
Theses and Dissertations
Penn State Theses and Dissertations
The CAT
Use the "Advanced Search" page. From the drop-down menu for "material type" choose type [Master thesis, dissertation, honors thesis]
Other Institutions
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Indexes theses and dissertations from universities around the world. Those from the CIC (Big 10+) are full-text online from about 1994 on.
Government Information
The Libraries collect extensively in Pennsylvania, US, and International government information. The print and microfiche collections contain over 500,000 items. This is supplemented by a number of online full-text resources.
To locate material
- Search The CAT
Many of the resources, especially those received since 1986, are listed in The CAT. For other US documents, use the Social Sciences Guide to Government Documents
For International and Foreign Information, use the International Affairs Research Guide
ASK at the Social Sciences Library Reference Desk (2nd Floor Paterno Library)
Many materials can be located only through specialized print indexes. Please ask for help.
News
The Libraries have access to hundreds of news sources from around the nation and around the world.
- Use the News and Microforms Library's Guide to Newspapers as a starting point
Search
Contact
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
Maps Library
814-863-0094
Marcy Bidney
Specialist: Geography
Helen Sheehy
Specialist
Political Science/International Relations
