U.S. Government Sources
The White House
- White House Fact Sheet
White House Press Briefings
Several focus specifically on Georgia/Russia Issues.
State Department
Other
- Georgia Resources [U.S. Institute of Peace]
- Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe (also known as the Helsinki Commission)
News Sources
- Press Display
Daily papers from around the world. Includes many Russian papers. Includes ability to translate "on the fly" from some newspapers World News Connection
Translations of news stories from around the world
UN Resources
- UN Security Council Meeting Records -- including material on Georgia
UN News Centre -- use the advanced search to find news stories.
UN Observer Mission in Georgia (UNOMIG) -- reports, press briefings, and Security Council resolutions related to Georgia
NATO
- NATO Home Page -- find press releases with NATO reaction to the Georgia situation
European Perspectives
- European Institute for Security Studies
European Parliament Press Release -- Sept. 3, 2008. Search for more.
Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe. South Caucuses Region
Think Tanks
- Center for Strategic & International Studies (CSIS -- CSIS comentary on the Georgia conflict
Databases
Available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account:
- Armed Conflict Database
While this database has little about the most recent problems, it provides good background on the longstanding issues. It does have an up-to-date timeline. Praeger Security International Online
Search "Georgia and Russia" -- provides good background and a few recent comments.CIAO
Good background and reports on the conflicts history.
Russian Government Resources
The links on this page are to English language web sites. More information may be available in the primary Russian Federation Web sites.
- Embassy of the Russian Federation
Includes information and news in English from the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Be sure to use the "Useful Links" at the bottom for many more press reports from the Russian government. Medvedev’s Statement on South Ossetia and Abkhazia -- from the New York Times
Georgian Government Resources
Links here are to English language resources. Additional information may be available at the companion Georgian language sites.
Search
Contact
Helen Sheehy
Subject Specialist
International Relations
814-863-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
