Sources for grants that non-profit organizations can apply for. If you are looking for funding for research to be done at Penn State, these are the sources you should be looking at.
America's New Foundations
A directory of "newer," less well-known foundations established since 1988Annual Register of Grant Support
This title includes grant information for both individuals and organizations, and also includes a section on proposal writingCatalog of Federal Domestic Assistance
also available online via the Government Printing Office
This government publication, available in print and on the Web, provides information about funds from all federal programs.Corporate Giving Directory
Primarily for corporate grants for charitable and philanthropic institutions.Directory of International Corporate Giving in America
A directory of U.S. and foreign-owned corporate foundations. Includes a section of grants organized by grant type, e.g., grants for research, scholarship, endowments, etc.Directory of Research Grants
This directory focuses on grants for research, and includes a Web site directory to foundationsThe Foundation Center
The Foundation Center, publisher of many of the titles on this page, offers some online tutorials about the grant process at this site. Also, monthly subscriptions can also be purchased to their online databaseThe Foundation Directory
This massive directory is broken down alphabetically by state. Note that the previous editions of this title that are located in the Pattee Library Stacks can be checked out.The Foundation Grants Index on CD-ROM
This CD-ROM allows you to search foundations electronically by location, subject area, and name. It includes grants of $10,000 or greater only. While it includes only two percent of all grant-making foundations, it claims to cover more than half of the amount of all funds granted.Grants for Nonprofits : Social Sciences
This Web page, created by Jon Harrison at Michigan State University, provides a list of online grant sources in the social sciences for organizations. Books are also listed on this site, but remember that they are being listed with call numbers and locations for Michigan State's library. Check the CAT to see if the Penn State Libraries offer the same titles and to find their locations.Guide to U.S. Foundations, Their Trustees, Officers, and Donors
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Helen Sheehy
814-865-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
