Find Journal Articles | International News Sources | Government Information | Country Background Information |
Statistical Resources | Books and Policy Papers | Law Resources | Special Topics | Major IGOs | Country Information |
Foreign Governments | Other Guides |
The Social Sciences Library is the primary locus for research in international affairs, providing access to library resources in fields ranging from anthropology, to sociology, political science, and statistics and data. The Library also houses and extensive U.S. documents collection and comprehensive collections from most major intergovernmental organizations including the United Nations, European Union, International Labor Organisation, World Bank, and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. However, resources for international affairs are inherently interdisciplinary. Below are some databases and starting points for your research. Other subject specific research guides may also be helpful. Please visit the Social Sciences Library, 2nd floor Paterno, for additional assistance.
News from the Library
New Database
Oxford International Encylcopedia of Legal History -- covers legal history from ancient to modern times and rovide both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems.
Environment and Energy Newswires: A collection of 5 separate news wires:
- ClimateWire tracks the politics and policy on climate change issues, both nationally and globally.and is designed to provide comprehensive, daily coverage of all aspects of climate change issues. Published at 8 a.m. daily.
- E&E Daily focuses on environmental and energy legislation in the U.S. Congress, E&E Daily is published every day Congress is in session at 8:30 a.m.
- Greenwire covers how these issues play out in the courts, states and federal agencies. and Greenwire is published 5 days a week at noon, Eastern Time.
- E&ENews PM is published daily at 4:30 p.m., and brings you all the late-breaking developments from Capitol Hill and everywhere else, so you're ahead of tomorrow's headlines and up-to-speed on any major action.
- Land Letter, published every Thursday at 1:00 PM, takes an in-depth look at natural resources and conservation issues.
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Helen M. Sheehy
814-863-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
