Skip to content

About the Collection | Databases | Understanding the Law: What is Law? | Secondary Sources | Statutes | Regulations | Cases  | Legal Citation  | Best of the Web

About the Collection

The Pattee/Paterno Libraries  maintain a strong collection of law materials, housing one of the largest collections of legal materials in Central Pennsylvania.  Support services for these collections reside in the Social Sciences Library (2 nd floor Paterno) for general law, and the Business Library (3 rd floor Paterno) for business law .   Combined with the resources of the Dickinson School of Law, which joined Penn State in 2000, Penn State provides access to a top flight legal research collection.

Databases

Try these first

   Search for journal articles

   Constitutions

   Cases and Commentary

In addition to Westlaw Campus and LexisNexis these databases provide access to cases and additional commentary

  • Bureau of National Affairs

 

Secondary Sources

  • The CAT -- locate books, etc.
  • Legal Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Commentary
  • Law Reviews, Legal News, and Periodicals
  • Citators --- Is it still good law?

 

   Additional Resources













Understanding the Law What is Law?

There are several types of law.  Understand what you need to find before you begin your research.


Secondary Sources: An Effective Research Strategy

Begin with secondary sources, They are often the most useful for those just beginning legal research since they l put the statutes, regulations, and court cases in the context of a body of law, that includes analysis.

back to top

Primary Sources

Now find the specific type of law you need by jurisdiction.

Statutes

back to top

Regulations

back to top

Cases

back to top

Legal Citation

back to top

Other Resources


Best of the Web

A few good starting places with links to many more.

back to top

Search


Contact

Subject Specialist
Helen M. Sheehy
814-863-1347

Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib

or your Commonwealth Campus Library



Get Help