Skip to content
Articles and Databases
The two primary databases for beginning your legal research are Westlaw and LexisNexis Academic. The University Libraries has subscriptions to the academic versions of both services.   These are available to all Penn State faculty, staff, and students.   User's familiar with the full versions of these services (generally available in law schools) will find significant differences in the resources that are available.  This results from the limited licensing options available to general academic libraries.  However,  the databases still provide a exceptionally strong basis for legal research.  University Library users who are not finding what they need should contact the Libraries' subject specialist for law for additional assistance.
In addition to these two databases the library subscribes to a number of subject databases in law.  A complete list is available on our Law: A Guide to Research
Books
The University Libraries has an extensive collection of treatises (books) on law and related topics.  The Paterno Library is the focus of the general collection in law.   However, all university faculty, staff and students may borrow material from any of the Penn State campuses, including  the Dickinson School of Law collections at Carlisle and at UP. 

Search the CAT to locate these materials.  Use the "I want it" button to request material from another campus

If you are not finding what you need with the PSUL collections, the library can assist you with borrowing.    Use the links under GET HELP/Information and Services in the right hand menu to request material.

Or, you can recommend that the library purchase material by contact the subject specialist for alw.  Contact info is at the right.

Reference Services

  • To get started on legal research use our web page " Law--A Guide to Research "
  • Staff at the Social Sciences Service Desk (2nd Floor Paterno) will be glad to help with your research
    • Library Hours -- please visit during regular working hours or call ahead to be sure assistance is available.  During the Spring and Fall semester the Social Sciences Reference desk is staffed
      • Mon-Thursday 8 am-9 pm
      • Friday 8 am-5 pm
      • Saturday 9 am.-5 pm
      • Sunday 12 (noon) - 9 pm.
  • or, contact Helen Sheehy (hms2@psu.edu) or 814-863-1347 for assistance.

Instruction Services

Helen Sheehy -- law specialist for the University Libraries is available to assist you with instruction needs. (see contact info at right) 

 This service includes

  • providing in-class training of students in the use of legal resources
  • providing specialized handouts for you classes focusing on legal resources
  • consultation in designing effective assignments that work within the confines of the Libraries' online and print resources

Search


Contact

Subject Specialist
Helen M. Sheehy
814-863-1347

Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib

or your Commonwealth Campus Library



Get Help