Articles and Databases
The U.S. military's Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) is a good search engine to use to research military topics. Information from the DTIC is free to all.
The following databases are available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account.
Aerospace & High Technology Database
This database provides bibliographic coverage of journal articles, conferences, and technical reports in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences.
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals
Indexes articles, news items, and editorials in approximately 80 English language military and aeronautical periodicals.
America : History & Life
Index to articles, books and book reviews for United States and Canadian History.
Armed Conflict Database
Provides an interactive source of information on the world's armed conflicts, including terrorism, refugees, weapons, fatalities, costs, historical backgrounds, updates and timelines.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online
Scholarly articles, papers and book chapters from research institutes, including the Center for Strategic & International Studies and the Arnold A. Saltzman Institute of War and Peace Studies (Columbia University).
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)
Provides access to citations of unclassified documents from DTIC's Technical Reports Collection, as well as the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, Staff College Automated Military Periodical Index, Department of Defense Index to Specifications and Standards, and Research and Development Descriptive Summaries.
Historical Abstracts
Index to articles, books, and book reviews for all areas of history except the United States and Canada.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and the Naval Postgraduate School's Center for Homeland Defense and Security. It provides quick access to homeland security policy and strategy related documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
A multidisciplinary database that serves as a central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information.
Praeger Security International Online (PSIO)
Interdisciplinary and diverse in political perspective, Praeger Security International Online publishes material on international security, including defense and foreign policy, strategy, regional security, military history, and terrorism.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Covers international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.
Searching The CAT
The CAT is the primary tool for finding books and periodicals owned by the Penn State Libraries, as well as for locating and requesting materials from nearby libraries. You may search the catalog by Keyword, Title, Author, or Subject. The Penn State Libraries catalogs its subjects according to the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). The assigned call numbers for Military Science and Naval Science are U and V, though items are found in others areas as well, such as D (World History), E (History of the Americas), J (Political Science), and TL (Aeronautics). For University Park Libraries visitors, books and periodicals with the call numbers U and V are located on the 3rd floor of Paterno Library.
Some examples of LCSH useful for research in Military Studies are:
Call Numbers for Military Science
| Call Number | Subject | Call Number | Subject |
|---|---|---|---|
| U | Military Science (general) | V | Naval science (general) |
| UA | Armies : organization, distribution, military situation | VA | Navies : organization, distribution, naval situation |
| UB | Military administration | VB | Naval administration |
| UB 416 - 419 | Minorities, women, etc. in armed forces | VC | Naval maintenance |
| UC | Maintenance and transportation | VD | Naval seamen |
| UD | Infantry | VE | Marines |
| UE | Cavalry. Armor | VF | Naval ordnance |
| UF | Artillery | VG | Minor service of navies |
| UG | Military engineering. Air forces | VK | Navagation. Merchant marine |
| UH | Other services | VM | Naval architecture. Shipbuilding. Marine engineering |
Reference Books
The Complete Encyclopedia of Arms & Weapons
Defense and Security : A Compendium of National Armed Forces and Security Policies
Dictionary of American Military Biography
Encyclopedia of Arms Control and Disarmament
Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations
An Encyclopedia of Naval History
Ground Warfare : An International Encyclopedia
International Military and Defense Encyclopedia
Jane's All the World's Aircraft
The Oxford Companion to Military History
The Penguin Encyclopedia of Weapons and Military Technology : Prehistory to the Present Day
United States Intelligence : An Encyclopedia
Women and the Military : An Encyclopedia
Women and War : A Historical Encyclopedia from Antiquity to the Present
Annual Publications
The Military Balance
Also available online to researchers with a Penn State Access Account.
Sipri Yearbook : world armaments and disarmament
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute
Strategic Survey
Also available online to researchers with a Penn State Access Account.
Magazines and Journals
The DISAM Journal of international security assistance management
Journal of Electronic Defense : official publication of the Association of Old Crows
The Mobility Forum : The Journal of the Air Mobility Command
RAF Air Power Review (Royal Air Force, United Kingdom)
The RUSI Journal (Royal United Services Institute for Defence Studies)
SAIS Review of International Affairs (School of Advanced International Studies, Johns Hopkins University)
Special Warfare : The Professional Bulletin of the John F. Kennedy Special Warfare Center and School
Selected Web Sites
Foreign Military Studies Office (FMSO)
"The Army's Foreign Military Studies Office (FMSO) is a research and analysis center under the U.S. Army's Training and Doctrine Command, Deputy Chief of Staff for Intelligence (TRADOC DCSINT). FMSO manages and operates the Fort Leavenworth Joint Reserve Intelligence Center (JRIC) and conducts analytical programs focused on emerging and asymmetric threats, regional military and security developments, and other issues that define evolving operational environments around the world."
Center for Strategic & International Studies
"The Center for Strategic and International Studies provides strategic insights and practical policy solutions to decision makers committed to advancing global security and prosperity."
Institute for Military History & 20th Century Studies
"The Kansas State University Institute for Military History and 20th Century Studies is a national center devoted to the historical study of public policies concerning national security, international affairs, and government institutions."
ACRL (Association of College & Research Libraries) page of online resources for military studies
School of Advanced Military Studies
"The School of Advanced Military Studies educates and trains officers at the graduate level in military art and science to develop commanders and General Staff officers with the abilities to solve complex problems in peace and war."
Military Analysis Network from the Federation of American Scientists
"The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) was formed in 1945 by atomic scientists from the Manhattan Project who felt that scientists, engineers and other innovators had an ethical obligation to bring their knowledge and experience to bear on critical national decisions, especially pertaining to the technology they unleashed - the Atomic Bomb. Today, FAS continues its exemplary 60-year record of achieving meaningful results in strategic security with research and education projects in nuclear arms control and global security; conventional arms transfers; proliferation of weapons of mass destruction; information technology for human health; and government information policy. In recent years, the mission of FAS has expanded to include our country's critical challenges in housing, energy and education."
Society for Military and Strategic Studies (SMSS) University of Calgary, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
"The Society for Military and Strategic Studies (SMSS) is a diverse group of students from all academic backgrounds with common interests in security, strategy and military issues. The SMSS provides a forum for discussion and an intellectual network with other students, faculty, the outside military and corporate communities, as well as an opportunity to learn through hands-on experiences in the military field."
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Nonny Schlotzhauer
814-863-4644
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
