Top Picks to find Journal Articles
These are the best places to start searching for articles. Wide breadth of coverage of key journals with links out to full-text resources.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
The best place to start. Some full text is available in the database. It also includes links out to E-Journal content through "GET IT". Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science)
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Has some journal content re: international Affairs. The best source for think tank papers with an international bent. Most are full text. JSTOR
Does not have the last 3-5 years of most journals, but does contain long archives of key journals.
Finding More Journal Articles
These databases provide access to significant archives of key journals or focus on specific areas such as history or economic aspects.
- America History and Life
With Historical Abstracts (below), covers journals in history that may also pick up political history that may not be covered otherwise. EconLit
Covers journals in the field of economics, and picks up political economy.
U.S. Government Information
Use these databases to find information about the government, including congressional materials. government, including congressional materials.
- CQ Electronic Library
A suite of databases with high-quality information to help you understand the working of the government. Use this link to search across the databases below:- CQ Almanac -- biographical information on members of congress and description of congressional district.
- CQ Weekly
the weekly news magazine of Congress - Congress and the Nation (Congressional Quarterly)
Provides a broad overview of government activities in a 5-year period - CQ Congress Collection
Information about how Congress works and bills they have passed - CQ Voting and Elections
Statistics and data about elections - Vital Statistics of American Politics
Politics by the numbers
LexisNexis Congressional
Full text of most congressional committee publications. Bill Tracking, Congressional Record and more (some historical material is not yet available but this database is being updated monthly with new content).LexisNexis State Capital
Follow the activities of state governments. Includes Bill tracking,GPO Access
The federal government portal to a wide range of online government resources.GalleryWatch
Federal Budget information and Bill Tracking
Policy Papers
These databases specialize in access to policy papers from think tanks and research sources.
- PolicyFile
An index to papers from think tanks such as the Heritage Foundation or Brookings Institution. Links to online Web content. CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
Great for think tank papers with an international bent. Most are full text. Also has some journal content.CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports
Policy discussion produced by the CRS section of the Library of Congress for use by congressional members and staff.OxResearch [Oxford Analytica]
Short analytical papers on public policy topics.
Statistics and Polls
U.S. Statistics
- LexisNexis Statistical
Both an index to statistical publications and a source of downloadable statistics. Covers federal, state, and international statistics. FedStats
One of the main federal government Web sites for statistics.CQ Voting and Elections
Allows you to analyze voting patterns in elections.CQ Congress Collection
Allows you to analyze a member of Congress' voting pattern.
International Statistics
Polls
- Gallup Brain
iPoll (Roper)
LatinoBarómetro
Downloadable polling data for Latin America
Data Sets
International Organizations
- SourceOECD
Full-text documents and publications from the OECD. Also includes SourceOECD statistics WorldBank E-Library
Full text of World Bank publications (PDF format)
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Helen M. Sheehy
814-863-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
