Note: PSU Libraries = resource available to researchers with a Penn State Access Account.
Business & Economics
Bureau of Economic Analysis - United States Department of Commerce
Interactive data tables on national economic, industry economic, international economic and regional economic dataForeign Exchange Annual Rates : Federal Reserve Bank
Tables shows the average rates of exchange for specific year together with comparable figures for other yearsForeign Exchange Daily Rates : Federal Reserve Bank
The Federal Reserve Bank buying rates in New York City for cable transfers payable in foreign currenciesForeign Trade Information System : Trade Unit of the Organization of American States
Information and documents on trade in the Western HemisphereForeign Trade Statistics : United States Census Bureau
Country and product trade data, state export data, statistics, and historical seriesInternational Economics Gateway : Alta Plana Corporation
Resource pages and data archives, international organization pages, national government pages and corporate serversInternational Trade Administration (ITA) : U.S. Department of Commerce
Access to international markets and products as required by our trade agreementsUSDA Economics and Statistics System via the Albert R. Mann Library, Cornell University
Provides nearly 300 reports and data sets from the economics agencies of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. These materials cover U.S. and international agriculture and related topicsOrganisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Statistical Review of World Energy 2005 : British Petroleum Company
World Development Indicators : The World Bank Group (PSU Libraries)
Census, Population & Demographics
Canadian Statistics
Statistics about Canada: census population, resources, business, economy, society and cultureCIA : The World Factbook
Topics include: geography, people, economy, communications, transportation, and the militaryIntegrated Public Use Microdata Series
Census microdata for social and economic researchInternational Data Base (IDB) : United States Census Bureau
Data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the worldInternational Labour Office
View labor statistics and extract data and metadata for over 200 countries or territoriesLiving Standards Measurement Study (LSMS) : Development Economics Research Group (DECRG) of the World Bank
Surveys, reports and data for measuring and understanding poverty in developing countriesNationMaster
Data sources to graphically compare nations. Compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECDOrganisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Publications and statistics on economic and social issues from macroeconomics, to trade, education, development and science and innovationStatistical Agencies (International) : U.S. Census Bureau
A-Z List of statistical international agencies for respective countriesStatistical Office of the European Communities (Eurostat)
Data for general and regional statistics, economy and finance, population/social conditions, industry, trade and services, agriculture and fisheries, external trade, transportation, environment and energy and science and technologyStatistical Resources on the Web Foreign Government Data Sources
Comprehensive listing of worldwide countries (A-Z)The International Data Base (IDB) : United States Census Bureau
Computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socioeconomic data for 227 countries and areas of the worldThe State of the World's Children 2006
Economic and social indicators and data on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children's well-beingThe World Fact Book : The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA)
Information on counties worldwideThe World-Wide Web Virtual Library
"Specialized areas of interest: agriculture, the arts, business and economics, communications and media, computing and computer science, education, engineering, humanities and humanistic studies, information and libraries, international affairs, law, natural sciences and mathematics, recreation, regional studies, social and behavioural sciences, and society"UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication.United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)
UNCDB provides selected series from numerous specialized international data sources for all available countries and areasUnited Nations Population Fund
Population issues: improving reproductive health, population and development, gender equality, human rights, adolescents and youth, preventing HIV infection, etc.United Nations Population Information Network (UNPIN)
A guide to population information on UN system web sites, data for particular countries and regionsUnited Nations Statistics Division
Economic statistics, demographic and social statistics, environment and energy statistics, and development of national statistical systemsWorld Bank Data & Research
Diverse data sets for research directed toward recognized and emerging policy issues on a long-term issues
Education
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communicationThe International Archive of Education Data (IAED)
Federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the United States and other nations
Environment
Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) Statistical Databases
Multilingual database currently containing time-series records covering international statisticsForeign Agricultural Service : United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
Data and information on markets and trade, commodities and products, import and export tradeEnergy Information Administration (EIA)
Topics include: petroleum, natural gas, electricity, coal, nuclear, renewable & alternative fuels, international, historical data overview, and environmentInternational Atomic Energy Agency
Databases and scientific services, statistics & forecasts and technical databases & information servicesInternational : United States Energy Information Administration
Data for petroleum (oil), natural gas, electricity, coal, total energy, carbon dioxide, population & GDP. Statistical reports, analyses, and forecastsEarthTrends : Environmental Information
EarthTrends is a comprehensive online database, maintained by the World Resources Institute, that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our worldUnited Nations Environment Programme / Global Resource Information Database (UNEP/GRID) Spatial Data Clearinghouse
United Nations Environment Programme / Global Resource Information Database (UNEP/GRID) Spatial Data Clearinghouse and Selected USGS and NASA data sets
Health
World Health Organization (WHO)
Reports and databases statistics on health care, disease and mortality ratesGlobal Health.gov
Web site of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Office of Global Health AffairsTables by Subject: Health (Statistics Canada)
Health and Care (National Statistics, United Kingdom)
Research Guide to International Health Statistics (University of Chicago Libraries)
GlobalHealthFacts.org
"GlobalHealthfacts.org, a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation, provides free, up-to-date and easy-to-access data by country on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and other key health and socio-economic indicators. The data are displayed in tables, charts, and color-coded maps and can be downloaded for custom analyses. GlobalHealthFacts.org is a companion site to GlobalHealthReporting.org, a project operated by the Foundation with major support from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.
Law & Criminal Justice
International Law: Databases and Statistics via FindLaw
International Justice Statistics (U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics)
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Stephen Woods
814-865-0665
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
