Basic Tools | Current Court Activity | Briefs and Oral Arguments |
Research Guides | Special Holdings
Basic Supreme Court Cases & Finding Tools
- CQ Supreme Court Collection -- Contains summaries and analysis of more than four thousand major decisions, historical and contemporary, including all cases in which the Burger and Rehnquist Courts (October 1969 to present) issued a written opinion. Includes links to the full text of the cases. The collection can be searched by topic, justice, and case name. Includes tools to research justices' voting records and opinion alignments.
- Supreme Court Official web site -- lists currently docketed cases and posts opinions immediately after their release.
- Quick Guide to Federal Reporters, Digests and Citators -- Guide to the print collections in the University Libraries.
Recent or Current Activity of the Court
Preview of the United States Supreme Court Cases: commentary on upcoming cases on the U.S. Supreme Court docket. Excerpts available at the American Bar Association website.
Call number: KF4547.8.P7, Legal Alcove, Social Sciences Library, 2nd Floor Paterno Library
United States Law Week: (available online through BNA Law Resources)
Part 1 - General Law Section (summaries of significant legislation, state court and lower federal court findings);
Part 2 - Supreme Court Section (docket, certiorari decisions, and full text opinions)
Call number: KF175.U6, Legal Alcove, Social Sciences Library, 2nd Floor Paterno Library
The Supreme Court Review: annual commentary on recent actions of the U.S. Supreme Court
Call number: KF8741.A4S8, 3rd Floor Paterno Library Stacks
Online: GetIt
Briefs and Oral Arguments
- Landmark Briefs and Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States, 1975 to present
Call number: KF101.8.K87, 3rd Floor Paterno Library Stacks
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (argued cases), October 1984 term to present|
Call number: Micro 4, Social Sciences Library Microforms Collection, 2nd Floor Paterno Library
- Compete Oral Arguments of the Supreme Court of the United States, 1980 to the present
Call number: Micro 4, Social Sciences Library Microforms Collection, 2nd Floor Paterno Library
Research Guides and Information About the Supreme Court
The Justices of the United States Supreme Court, 1789-1969, Their Lives and Major Opinions
Call number: KF8744.F75 1995, Legal Alcove, Social Sciences Library, 2nd Floor Paterno LibraryHow to Research the Supreme Court
Call number: KF8741.A1M36 1992, Legal Alcove, Social Sciences Library, 2nd Floor Paterno LibraryThe Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
Call number: KF8742.A35O93, Legal Alcove, Social Sciences Library, 2nd Floor Paterno LibraryThe Supreme Court Compendium, Data, Decisions, and Development
Call number: KF8742.E68, Legal Alcove, Social Sciences Library, 2nd Floor Paterno Library
Special Holdings -- Manuscript and Correspondence Collections
- The Louis Dembitz Brandeis Papers
Call number: Microfilm A295, News & Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee Library West
- Letters of Louis D. Brandeis
Call number: E664.B819A4 1971, Pattee Library Stacks Level 1 - The Salmon P. Chase Papers
Call number: E415.6.C48 1993, Pattee Library Stacks Level 1
Call number: Microfilm A341, News " Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee Library West - The Papers of Felix Frankfurter (Library of Congress collection)
Call number: Microfilm A317, News & Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee Library West - The Felix Frankfurter Papers (Harvard Law School Library collection)
Call number: Microfilm A292, News & Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee Library West - The Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., Papers
Call number: Microfilm A305, News & Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee Library West - William Howard Taft Papers
Call number: Microfilm A74, News & Microforms Library, Ground Floor Pattee Library West
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Helen M. Sheehy
814-863-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
