Looking for a topic?
If you need help deciding what to research try this:
- CQ Researcher -- covers many topics of current interest. Go into CQ Researcher and click on Browse by Topic.
- Scan a newspaper for ideas
- Pick up a News Magazine such as Time or Newsweek
A Research Strategy
Tracing how well a piece of legislation has met its objective and what it's unintended consequences have been is a multi-tiered project.
The resources below will step you through that process.
- Begin by reading some background information on your topic. The sources listed under "Policy Development" will provide that background and talk about specific laws.
- Identify a public law that you want to explore and note its number (e.g. P.L. 209-58) and the date it was passed.
- Next go to the CQ Electronic Library and use the CQ Almanac and CQ Weekly Reports to get more information on the law's provisions and Congress' discussions when it was considering the law.
- Then trace the law's legislative history.
- Use Lexis/Nexis Congressional. Click on Legislative Histories in the left column, choose get a document and type in the law's number.
- look for committee reports and hearings, as well as congressional debate to determine the intent. These documents comprise the legislative history.
- Determine the outcomes. Use the resources below under "Outcomes".
- Look at government reports from the GAO or Agencies involved in administering the Law
- Look for journal articles about the issue.
- If the issue is very current try news sources as well.
Policy Development
Background information on policy development and interest groups
Hint: these resources outline the issues as well as talk about the potential solutions. Some will also provide legislative histories.
- Policy File -- Public policy research and analysis database that is a clearing house for locating information from think tanks and interest groups. A good place to find pro/con discussion, but keep in mind that many of these organizations may have a partisan point of view.
- Congressional Research Service Reports -- Reports prepared for the use of congressional committees as they are studying possible new legislation of government programs. They also sometimes provide histories of legislation and discussion of how well legislation has achieved its stated purpose. Very non-partisan and objective in their analysis.
- Congressional Budget Office -- publishes studies of the economic effects of many government programs and policies.
Tracing a Law
Background information on legislation
Hint: Use the CQ Electronic Library resources and National Journal to identify a public law. NOTE the Public Law number and use that number to search the legislative histories in Lexis/Nexis Congressional.
- CQ Electronic Library -- use the following databases within the Library to identify a federal law to research. Click on the above link then choose one of these files. Be sure not note the bill number (e.g. HR129 or S232) and the Public Law Number (e.g. PL 99-123) for use in Lexis/Nexis Congressional.
- CQ Almanac -- similar to Congress and the Nation, but more detailed and issued on an annual basis. Good for determining the rational behind passing legislation.
- CQ Weekly -- the Time or Newsweek of Congress. Detailed coverage of legislative activities.
- Lexis/Nexis Congressional . Once you have identified a Public Law. Search the Legislative Histories section of Lexis/Nexis Congressional. Look particularly for the House/Senate/Conference Reports which will give in depth info on the legislative intent. Hearings may also be helpful Most of these will be full text in the database for contemporary reports.
- National Journal -- similar to CQ Weekly above but also covers the executive branch.
Outcomes
Government Reports
- GAO Reports -- the Government Accountability Office is charged with monitoring the effectiveness of government programs and regularly publish reports on program outcomes.
- Congressional Research Service Reports -- Reports prepared for the use of congressional committees as they are studying possible new legislation of government programs. They also sometimes provide histories of legislation and discussion of how well legislation has achieved its stated purpose.
Journal and News Articles
Look for articles by scholars that discuss the results of government policies.
- Econ Lit -- the best index for scholarly literature in the field of economics
- WorldWide Political Science Abstracts -- the best index for scholarly articles in political Science
- Proquest -- a more general database that also carries news content that may be helpful.
Other Hints
- Explore government agency web sites for publications on your issues. Use USA.gov as a starting point. http://www.usa.gov/ or http://www.usa.gov/Agencies/Federal/All_Agencies/index.shtml
- Search the CAT for books and other government reports
Search
Contact
Subject specialist
Helen Sheehy
814-863-1347
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
