FedStats
Gateway to statistics from over 100 United States Federal agencies
Bureau of Economic Analysis : United States Department of Commerce
"BEA produces economic accounts statistics that enable government and business decision-makers, researchers, and the American public to follow and understand the performance of the Nation's economy. To do this, BEA collects source data, conducts research and analysis, develops and implements estimation methodologies, and disseminates statistics to the public".Bureau of Labor Statistics : United States Department of Labor
"BLS is an independent national statistical agency that collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statistical data to the American public, the U.S. Congress, other Federal agencies, State and local governments, business, and labor."RITA (Bureau of Transportation Statistics, U.S. Department of Transportation)
"The Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) coordinates the U.S. Department of Transportation's (DOT) research programs and is charged with advancing the deployment of cross-cutting technologies to improve our Nation's transportation system. As directed by Congress in its founding legislation, RITA leads DOT in:- Coordinating, facilitating and reviewing the Department's research and development programs and activities
- Advancing innovative technologies, including intelligent transportation systems
- Performing comprehensive transportation statistics research, analysis and reporting
- Providing education and training in transportation and transportation-related fields.
Economic Census (United States Census Bureau)
The "official 5 year measure of American business"Census of Governments: Federal, State, and Local (U.S. Census Bureau)
Public employment & payroll, finance, public employee retirement systems, tax collections, federal expenditures, and moreForeign Trade Statistics (U.S. Census Bureau)
U.S. trade, state exports, company profiles and trade deficit levelsHouse Ways and Means Committee Prints via the Government Printing Office
"The House Committee on Ways and Means is the oldest standing committee in Congress. It was created in 1789 and has jurisdiction over legislation, methods, and means of raising revenue for the use of the government. In addition to legislating, the Committee exercises broad oversight authority over economic policy, international trade, welfare, Social Security, Medicare and health care policy."Industry and Occupation (United States Census Bureau)
Data and information on labor force trends in the economyIndustry, Trade and the Economy : Data and Analysis (International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce)
National trade data, state export data, TradeStats Express, trade analysis and industry informationInstitute for Research on Poverty (IRP)
Interdisciplinary research into the causes and consequences of poverty and social inequality in the United StatesHUD USER Data Sets
United States Department of Housing and Urban Development's data sets including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, microdata from research initiatives such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.Poverty : United States Census Bureau
Poverty thresholds, definitions, microdata access, poverty tables, poverty measurement studiesSocial Security Administration Office of Policy
"The Office of Policy serves as the Social Security Administration's focal point for policy analysis and research, evaluation, and statistics."STAT-USA/Internet : United States Department of Commerce
"STAT-USA/Internet, a service of the U.S. Department of Commerce, is a single point of access to authoritative business, trade, and economic information from across the Federal Government. The PSU Libraries' subscription to STAT-USA requires that researchers request access from the U.S. Government Documents Librarian. Access is limited to in-library use only.The Economic Policy Institute (EPI)
Aggregate time series data documenting historical labor market trends and historical employment and earnings data at the state level.
American Demographics
The Advertising Age DataCenter provides exclusive advertising and marketing industry data: top line data, marketers/advertisers, media, agencies, salary surveysAmerican FactFinder (United States Census Bureau)
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic dataCensus 2000 TIGER/Line Data : United States Census Bureau
The shapefiles contain data about the following features: line features, boundary features, landmark features, and ready-to-use datasetsChildstats.gov : Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Access to statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and educationCultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)
Interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United StatesCurrent Population Survey : a Joint Project between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the Bureau of the Census
Information on the labor force characteristics of the United States populationData Sets Access Tools : United States Census Bureau
Interactive application supports the economic censuses, the American Community Survey, the 1990 Census, Census 2000, and the latest population estimatesFederal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics
Key indicators of well-being for older Americans: population, economics, health status, health risks & behaviors, and health careFertility of American Women : United States Census Bureau
Data on fertility of American women for the non-institutionalized population collected biannuallyHistorical Census Browser via the University of Virginia Library Geospatial and Statistical Data Center
Interactive site with state and county topics for individual census years 1790 to 1960Integrated Public Use Microdata Series
Quantitative information to facilitate analysis of social and economic changes on long-term changes in the American populationInterracial Tables : United States Census Bureau
The tabulations show data from the 1990, 1980, and 1970 censusesMetropolitan Area Rankings List : United States Census Bureau
Rates and ranking for population, age, birth, death, housing, per capita, labor force, and wagesNational Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
"Types available for land, marine, satellite, snow & ice, and solar-terrestrial"Population and Household Economic Topics - United States Census Bureau
Sources of Population Information, Population Data Programs/Products and Population Data by SubjectPopulation Reference Bureau
Topic areas: reproductive health and fertility; children and families; population and the environment; and population futures: aging, inequality & poverty, migration & urbanization, and genderState & County Quick Facts : United States Census Bureau
Access to data facts about people, business, and geographyState and Metropolitan Area Data Book : United States Census Bureau
Contains a comprehensive collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States at the state and metropolitan area levelsState Data Center (SDC) Program : United States Census Bureau
Listing and contact information for Census State Data CentersState Rankings List by United States Census Bureau
State rankings for: population, people, race, birth, death, labor force, per capita, energy, exports, and manufacturingStatistical Abstract of the United States : United States Census Bureau
Comprehensive A - Z list of subject topicsThe United States National Archives
Records cover a wide variety of civilian and military functions and have many genealogical, social, political, and economic research usesTheDataWeb a collaboration between the U.S. Census Bureau and the Centers for Disease Control
Data topics include, census data, economic data, health data, income and unemployment data, population data, labor data, cancer data, crime and transportation data, family dynamics and vital statistics dataUnited States Census Bureau
Interactive application supports the economic censuses, the American Community Survey, the 1990 Census, Census 2000, and the latest population estimatesUnited States Census Bureau : Subjects Index
Comprehensive A - Z list of census topicsUnited States Census
U.S. Census reportsVoting And Registration : United States Census Bureau
Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics
Digest of Education Statistics : National Center for Education Statistics
Compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from pre-kindergarten through graduate schoolNational Center for Education Statistics : United States Department of Education
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to educationCommon Core of Data (CCD) : Institute of Education Sciences
Data include information that describes schools and school districts, including name, address, and phone number; descriptive information about students and staff, including demographics; and fiscal data, including revenues and current expenditures.
Envirofacts Data Warehouse (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
"your one-stop source for environmental information"The National Agricultural Statistics Service
Reports covering virtually every aspect of United States agriculture: production and supplies of food and fiber, prices paid and received by farmers, farm labor and wages, farm finances, chemical use, and changes in the demographics of United States producersClimate Change (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
"EPA's Climate Change Site offers comprehensive information on the issue of climate change in a way that is accessible and meaningful to all parts of society — communities, individuals, business, states and localities, and governments."National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
"The National Oceanographic Data Center is a national repository and dissemination facility for global oceanographic data which acquires and preserves a historical record of the Earth's changing environment to be used for operational applications and ocean climate research."Monitoring and Assessing Water Quality
The National Water Quality Inventory Report to Congress (305(b) report) is the primary vehicle for informing Congress and the public about general water quality conditions in the United States. This document characterizes our water quality, identifies widespread water quality problems of national significance, and describes various programs implemented to restore and protect our waters.
Marital Status and Living Arrangements : United States Census Bureau
Current Population Survey (CPS) reports, marital status and living arrangements data, historical time series, and decennial census data.Marriage and Divorce : United States Census Bureau
Provides the current marital status of persons, by age, sex, and race and the estimated median age at first marriage for men and women in the United States.Child Care & Early Education Research Connections
Multi-disciplinary database of over 10,000 resources, including peer-reviewed journal articles, books, research reports, gray literature, government information and data. Data sets are available for download or quick online analysis.The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Statistics and reports on children and families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and educationThe National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA) : ICPSR
Demographic characteristics of older adults as well as social characteristics, economic characteristics, psychological characteristics, mental health, and well-being, physical health and functioning, health care needs, utilization, and financing for older adults.
American FactFinder United States Census Bureau
Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data setsBehavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System : Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Personal health behaviors affecting premature morbidity and mortalityCenters for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) : Data & Statistics
Access to a wide variety of reports and numeric public health dataDemographic and Health Surveys
Data for a wide range of monitoring and impact evaluation indicators in the areas of population, health, and nutritionEnvironmental Protection Agency
"EPA leads the nation's environmental science, research, education and assessment efforts."Health Poll Search
Searchable archive of public opinion questions on health issues that allows users to know what Americans think about health issuesHIV Research and Practice Resources
Includes link to HIV/AIDS and STD data archiveNational Cancer Institute : Statistical Resources
Source of information on cancer incidence and survival in the United StatesNational Center for Health Statistics
"Two major types of data systems: 1) systems based on populations containing data collected through personal interviews or examinations; and 2) systems based on records, containing data collected from vital and medical records."National Climatic Data Center : NOAA
World's largest active archive of weather dataNational Women's Health Indicators Database
National, regional, state and county data are available by gender, race, ethnicity, and age. You can make your own custom tables, graphs, and mapsThe Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)
Download data sets, analyze data online and produce analytic tables
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Statistics for: crime & victims, criminal offenders, law enforcement, prosecution, federal justice system, courts & sentencing, corrections, expenditure & employment, and criminal record systems.Corrections Statistics : Bureau of Justice Statistics
Capital punishment, jails, prisons, probation & parole, adult correctional populations, incarceration rate, and related codebooks & data setsCourts and Sentencing Statistics : Bureau of Justice Statistics
Pretrial release and detention, criminal case processing, criminal sentencing, civil justice, court organization, indigent defense, and related codebooks & data sets.Uniform Crime Reports : Crime in the United States Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI)
Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC)
Databases which contains information about suspects and defendants processed in the Federal criminal justice system.Justice Research and Statistics Association
A national nonprofit organization of state Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) directors, researchers, and practitioners throughout government, academia, and criminal justice organizations.National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD)
Data Resource Guides: capital punishment, expenditure & employment for the criminal justice system, National Crime Victimization Survey, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Uniform Crime Reporting Program, and an extensive list of data subjectsNational Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Topical Index (A-Z) that include: corrections, courts, crime prevention, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victimsSourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
Sections include: criminal justice characteristics, public opinion, crime, victims, arrests, seizures, courts, prosecution, sentencing, parole, jail, and prison
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Stephen Woods
814-865-0665
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
