The Penn State University Libraries own many special collections available in several formats (e.g., microfilm, paper, photographs, and video). For a description of the areas in the Libraries on the University Park campus which comprise special collections see University Libraries' Special Collections Library.
Some of the key collections for Women's Studies which are owned by the Penn State University Libraries are available only on microfilm. Many of our microfilm collections are cataloged and can be searched using the CAT.
Another excellent way to locate microfilm collections is by searching MicroFinder. You can search MicroFinder by subject, or alphabetically or chronologically.
The following list highlights some of the most important women's studies collections available at the Penn State Libraries.
Alice Marshall Women's History Collection
The Alice Marshall Collection, housed at the Penn State Harrisburg Library (Special Collections & Archives), is one of the premier private collections of materials on the history of women in the United States. The collection contains books, periodicals, posters, sheet music, photographs, and other items.
History of Women : Guide to the Microfilm Collection
Indexes 995 reels of a comprehensive microfilm collection from the archives of the Sophia Smith Collection, the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College, and others. The collection includes over 10,000 books or pamphlets; 117 periodicals, 800 photographs, and 32 manuscript collections.NOTE: Most titles in this collection are cataloged and can be found in the CAT.
Guide to the Microfilm Edition of Herstory
Herstory is a collection of women's journals, newspapers, and newsletters dating from 1956 to 1974. Organizations represented include the National Women's Political Caucus, Women's Equity Action League, Women's International League for Peace and Freedom and newsletters from many chapters of the National Organization for Women.A Guide to Materials on Women in the Pennsylvania State University Archives
The Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony : Guide and Index to the Microfilm Edition
Search
Contact
Subject Specialist
Paula Contreras
814-865-3621
Social Sciences Library
814-865-4861
AIM: socscilib
or your Commonwealth Campus Library
