Skip to content

The Brown University Women's Writers Project
"Our goal is to bring texts by pre-Victorian women writers out of the archive and make them accessible to a wide audience of teachers, students, scholars, and the general reader. We support research on women's writing, text encoding, and the role of electronic texts in teaching and scholarship."

National Museum for Women in the Arts
Home page for the museum in Washington, D.C. dedicated to bring "recognition to the achievements of women artists of all periods and nationalities by exhibiting, preserving, acquiring, and researching art by women and by educating the public concerning their accomplishments".

The Canadian Women's Health Network
The goal of this site is basic: "To improve women's health and health services."

Women's Health Initiative, National Institutes of Health
The Women's Health Initiative [WHI] focuses on the "major causes of death, disability and frailty in postmenopausal women. The overall goal of WHI is to reduce coronary heart disease, breast and colorectal cancer, and osteoporotic fractures among postmenopausal women via prevention/intervention strategies and risk factor identification".

Women-Focused Magazines and Newsletters on the Web
This site from the University of Wisconsin Women's Studies Librarian's Office provides information about women's magazines, newsletters, and journals.

Women's Studies Resources : Communication and Media
Check out this site for links to resources related to women and language, women and television, and other topics for women and media.

The Association for Women in Communications (AWC)
AWC is a "professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communication disciplines...". Disciplines represented within the association include: print and broadcast journalism, television and radio production, film, advertising, public relations, marketing, graphic design, multi-media design, and photography.

WomensNet
WomensNet, part of the Institute for Global Communication, "supports women's organizations worldwide by providing and adapting telecommunications technology to enhance their work".

4000 Years of Women in Science [University of Alabama]
"...emphasizes women of the past - mainly pre-20th century.

The Feminist Majority Foundation
The premier site for activism issues, and issues relating to social, economic, and political change for women.

The White House Project : Advancing Women's Leadership
"The White House Project aims to advance women's leadership in all communities and sectors-up to the U.S. presidency - by filling the leadership pipeline with a richly diverse, critical mass of women."

United States Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women
This office was created in 1995 to implement the 1994 Violence Against Women Act, and to lead the effort to combat domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking of women.

Gender Equity in Sports
This site, developed by two faculty members from the University of Iowa, "is designed to serve as a resource for any individual investigating the state of affairs in interscholastic or intercollegiate sport". This site provides an excellent overview and introduction to Title IX, and also provides current information on lawsuits, resources, and other actions being taken regarding gender equity issues relating to sports.

Gender Equity in Athletics and Sports
This page from the Feminist Majority Foundation provides information on the Olympics,empowering women and girls in sports, Title IX, and gives links to other web sites.

Yahoo! : Women and Sports
Provides links to many other sites related to all aspects of women and girls in sports.

U.S. Department of Labor Women's Bureau
Created by Congress on June 5, 1920 to "promote the welfare of wage earning women", the Women's Bureau has several functions. These include working to alert women about their rights in the workplace; proposing policies and legislation that benefit working women; and researching and analyzing information about women and work. From this page you can link to other sites on different topics including business, children and families, sexual harassment, and legal issues.

United States Small Business Administration

The International Labour Organization : Gender Equality Tool
This site from the International Labour Organization provides information about key policies and iniatives the ILO is working on to promote the empowerment of women. You can also find labour standards; information resources such as statistics and working papers; and links to other sites.

University of Maryland Women's Studies Database
One of the premier Internet resources for women's studies, this site provides links to conference announcements, calls for papers, employment opportunities, and even feminist movie reviews.

University of Wisconsin, Women's Studies Librarian's Website
The Office of the Women's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin has long been a publisher of important research aids for women's studies librarians. This site provides access to many of their publications online as well as linking you to several other good sites.

  • WSSLINKS : Women and Gender Studies Web Sites
    Maintained by the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, this site provides links to several subject-specific sites relating to women.

    Gifts of Speech : Women's Speeches from Around the World

    Voice of the Shuttle : Gender and Sexuality Studies Page
    This site leads to other Web resources including those for gay, lesbian and queer studies; men's movement and men's studies; and cybergender and techgender.

  • Search


    Contact

    Subject Specialist
    Paula Contreras
    814-865-3621

    Social Sciences Library
    814-865-4861
    AIM: socscilib

    or your Commonwealth Campus Library



    Get Help