Databases (electronic)
Researchers with a Penn State Access Account can use these databases to locate articles in their research area.
- America : History and Life
America : History and Life includes annotated or abstracted references to American and Canadian history. The database includes over 2,000 journals worldwide, including state and local historical journals as well as historical articles from hundreds of major humanities and social science journals. It also includes thousands of book and media reviews, citations to published books, and dissertations. - Contemporary Women's Issues
This database provides access to full text sources covering global information on women. The sources include periodicals, newsletters, reports, fact sheets, and pamphlets. Topics covered range from human rights to health and reproductive issues to legal information. - CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly)
Weekly "magazine" that explores in-depth a single "hot issue" currently being discussed in the news. Topics include social issues, politics, economics, the environment, education, science, and more. Each issue includes an essay outlining the issue, a pro-con feature, a chronology, and a bibliography. - Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is a comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 100,000 articles in Spanish, ENW offers in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and retrospective topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. - HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world. - International Index to Black Periodicals
IIBP Full Text draws its current content from more than 150 international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals. It covers a wide array of humanities-related disciplines including art, cultural criticism, economics, education, health, history, language and literature, law, philosophy, politics, religion, and sociology among others. - JSTOR
Electronic Journals available through the Web to Penn State scholars in the areas of Ecology, Economics, Finance, History, Mathematics, Political Science, and Population Studies, among others. - LGBT Life
This database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage of journals, newspapers, books, and magazines in in LGBT studies as well as full text for some of the most important and historically significant works. Full text is available for 50+ titles including The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ : A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, The Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, TANGENTS, and Washington Blade. - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. - Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. The index can be used to look up either a specific author or a particular publication to see how many articles in the database cited that author or publication. The index can also be used to find related articles (articles that have at least one reference in common). - Sociological Abstracts
Index for English language journals in Sociology, Social Work, and other Social Sciences. Provides abstracts for articles and is international in scope. - Women's History Online, 1543-1945 (Gerritsen Collection)
Full-text books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights through 1945. Includes materials from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543-1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist; many other titles present a purely objective record of the condition of women at a given time. - Women's Studies International
This resource provides access to records drawn from ten important Women's Studies databases. Among the databases included in Women's Resources International are Womens Studies Abstracts, one of the premiere Women's Studies indexes; four files from Women's Studies Librarian at the University of Wisconsin; Popline Subset on Women; and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography of Mostly English Language Journal Articles from the World Health Organization. Citations and abstracts only.

(e-reference)