Film/Video Studies Databases and Journal Archives
Film/Video Studies Databases | Film/Video Studies Journal Archives | Film Reviews | Other Resources
Go to the Film Studies — Criticism and Scholarship database subject list for information about and links to these databases.
Film/Video Studies Databases
| Database | Description | Content |
|---|---|---|
|
International Index to Performing Arts (Chadwyck IIPA) (Coverage: abstracts provided for every citation from 1988-date; selected content from 1864) strength: journal-specific searching |
Focus: All performing arts, including theatre, dance, opera, film & video
|
|
|
ProQuest Research Library (Coverage: 1972-date) strengths: searches a very broad range of publications weaknesses: include more search terms to avoid retrieving too many unrelated documents |
Focus: Very cross-disciplinary
|
Trade publications, magazines, newspapers and scholarly journals (titles include Variety, Cinema Journal, and Millennium Film Journal). |
|
Communication & Mass Media Complete (Coverage: 1980s-date, with selected journals indexed as far back as 1915) strengths:
|
Focus: All areas of communications and media studies; film, television and video
|
|
|
MLA International Bibliography (Coverage: 1963-date) strengths: wide scope-search not confined to film/video-related journals; foreign language sources. weaknesses: "popular" periodicals like Variety, Hollywood Reporter, Framework, Black Camera, and Millimeter, not included in this database. |
Focus: Scholarly journals in literature, folklore, language arts, dramatic arts (including film)
|
|
|
Film Literature Index (Coverage: 1976-2001) strengths:
weaknesses:
|
Focus: Film, video and television
|
|
| Film & Television Literature Index (Coverage: 1987-to the present) strengths:
|
Subject coverage includes:
|
Publications include
|
|
FIAF International Film Archive (Coverage: 1979-2002) strengths: Unique information on silent film holdings in archives around the world weaknesses:
|
Focus: Film, silent film
Multiple databases:
|
|
|
Communication Abstracts (Coverage: 1998-present) strengths:
|
Focus: Research literature in all areas of communications, including film, broadcast and print, video, cultural studies, pop culture, etc. |
|
Film/Video Studies Journal Archives
| Journal Archive | Description | Content |
|---|---|---|
| Periodicals Archive Online (Chadwyck PAO) | Archive of hundreds of full-text journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. | Full text articles from: Sight and Sound (1932-1990), Monthly Film Bulletin (1934-1987), Cinema Journal (1961-1966), Film and History (1971-1995), and others. |
| JSTOR |
Electronic form of selected journals in a wide range of disciplines, including some film journals.
Rolling archive-years added annually. |
Full text articles from: Cinema Journal (1966-2002), Journal of the Society of Cinematologists (1961-1965), Film Quarterly (1958-2003), Hollywood Quarterly (1945-1951), and others. |
| Project Muse | Database of humanities, arts and social sciences journals, providing full text archives for a wide range of publications. This database contains archives and current issues of selected film journals. | Full text articles from: Camera Obscura (2000-2004), Wide Angle (1996-1999), Cinema Journal (1999-date), Film and History (2004-date), Film History (2005-date), Framework (2006-date), The Moving Image (2003-date) and Velvet Light Trap (2003-date). |
Film Reviews in Newspapers/Magazine Databases
Access these online databases from the Penn State Libraries' Databases by Title (A-Z List)
- LexisNexis Academic: Find movie reviews under "Arts & Sports News".
- ProQuest National Newspapers: Searches national, regional, and financial newspapers.
- ProQuest Research Library: Magazines, trade periodicals, etc.
- America's Newspapers (NewsBank): Regional and local newspapers.
Other Resources
American Film Institute Catalog:
- Comprehensive filmography - details production credits, cast, plot summary, etc. of every American feature film and international films co-financed by American companies (1893-1970).
- Collaboration between the American Film Institute (AFI) and Chadwyck-Healey-ProQuest.
- On-going project; completed until 1970 with work progressing on 1971-1980
The Bibliography of FIAF Members' Publications (part of the FIAF International Film Archive database): Overview of all the publications of the members of the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) since 1966; updated annually.
The International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections (part of the FIAF International Film Archive database): Contains detailed entries on over 145 institutions worldwide. The entries indicate contact and access information, as well as descriptions and enumerations of materials collected.

(e-reference)