A. William Hajjar, a member of the architecture faculty at the Pennsylvania State University in the 1950s and 1960s, challenged the conservative look of the State College community with his contemporary-style homes. Now more than 50 years old, these forty-plus buildings still delight those who appreciate post-war modern design, and their owners are proud to play a part in conserving a significant part of State College history.
“The Three H’s,” as they were once known by architecture students, were A. William Hajjar, Philip F. Hallock, and Kenneth J. Heidrich**. They all left their marks on the area with many beautifully designed homes as well as schools and commercial works. Additionally, a number of their students remained in the area and added their own inspired works to the community.
A print version of this exhibit is also available: call number: NA735.S73M35 2004 v.1-3 Q
Higher resolution files for most of the images in this exhibit can be found in the Central Pennsylvania Architecture and Landscape Architecture image collection.
** for more information on the other H’s, see “Hallock's (mostly) Hidden Houses : Buildings in the Centre Region” (print version: call number: NA7239.H35A4 2006 Q) as well as “Heidrich: The Quiet "H"” (print version: call number: NA7239.H45A4 2008 Q) both by Robert E. Malcolm.
In Fall 2004, the Centre County Historical Society showcased Hajjar's local architectural legacy in an exhibit. Robert E. Malcom assembled the exhibit, spending many months taking pictures, interviewing current and former owners, and writing the text. These web pages attempt to re-create this exhibit online.
© Robert E. Malcom
July 10, 2004
Not for resale. Permission is granted to make copies for personal use.
Centre County Historical Society
1001 East College Avenue
State College, PA 16801