Skip to content
Penn State University Libraries

John M. Lilley Library @ Penn State Erie, The Behrend College

Contact

  • John M. Lilley Library
    Penn State Erie, The Behrend College
    4951 College Drive
    Erie, PA 16563

    Main Number: 814-898-6106
    Reference Desk: 814-898-6058
    Interlibrary Loan: 814-898-6259
  • Staff Directory

Penn State Behrend Collection

behrend center


Within three months of Mrs. Behrend’s donation of Glenhill Farm, "Behrend Center" was accepting students for its first semester.  The initial class of 152 students found themselves attending classes in what had been the Behrend’s barn.  Under the leadership of T. Reed Ferguson and then Irvin Kochel, the campus grew at an extraordinary pace. As the Center celebrated its silver anniversary in 1973, Penn State designated it "Behrend College," and it became the University’s first four-year campus. Today Penn State Erie, The Behrend College boasts a student body of nearly 4,500 and over 200 full-time faculty. 


The Penn State Behrend Collection contains materials documenting the rise of the institution over the last 60 years as well as:

  • Various official college and student publications including student newspapers and yearbooks
     
  • Scrapbooks and news clippings dating to the origins of the campus
     
  • Memorabilia
     
  • Correspondence of Behrend administrators
     
  • Photographs
     
  • Film footage of some recent events


Related collections include:

  • Benjamin A. Lane Collection (comprised of materials gathered in the writing of his book, Behrend Remembered)
     
  • Norman B. Patterson Collection (comprised of photographs taken during his tenure as a faculty member starting in the early 1950’s)
     
  • Faculty Women and Wives Club Collection
     
  • The Penn State Behrend Archives Oral History Collection